We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Chalet Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have been staying at The Mountain Chalet since 2006, usually in low season (early december). The bunk room is adequate, but the main reason we keep returning is the ambience of the Inn. Guests mix and mingle in the lobby. The Hosts & Staff are always friendly & obliging.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    123
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
111
137
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Staff: Other than the desk and breakfast staff, the rest were rarely seen but were efficient. The daily room service was noticeably good. At breakfast they made sure the breakfast bar (the best in town) was kept stocked and clean. We had a minor room problem which was taken care of right away. The lobby always had coffee, hot cider, tea and hot chocolate choices. From the afternoon to the evening there was a tray of cookies. Local papers were there each morning. Although we didn't use it, the four lane pool always looked clean. The spacious hot tub, adjacent locker rooms, sauna, exercise room and pool table were great amenities. Why not a rating of 5??

On Sunday, Mountain Chalet hosted a wedding event. The festivities ran into the evening. At first it was the screaming children chasing up and down the stairways. We called the desk but it didn't quiet down. Then the adults decided to bring the bar scene down to the pool area. The raucous crowd screamed like they were at a sporting event...followed by multiple people ending up in the pool...followed by even more noise! This ran on for almost two hours.

What a disappointment that the management did not prepare for the predictable finale after hours of alcohol...pool dunking. We selected this lodging because it is located away from the noisy bars. It is a great place to stay but be forewarned that this could happen to you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skierschoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Aspen-Snowmass remains my favorite mountain destination after decades of skiing around the Rockies. Mountain Chalet (MCA)adds tremendously to the charm, convienence and affordability of every visit. I used to bring the family out for 2 one week trips yearly and stay at high end condos/homes or the Little Nell. Prices for those beds went north of $ 1500 a night.That is the price for the entire stay at MCA. The cleanliness of my rooms has always been amazing, The 5 Star hotels and property managers housekeeping honestly do not come close. The warmth and Old scholl ambiance of the Lobby/Lounge and breakfast area allow you meet meet people from around the globe in a wonderful atmosphere. This is not a Glitzy, over the top, in your face place where you can declare your need to spend your children's inheritance foolishly. There is no finer location in all of Aspen, Rooms are wonderfully adequate to very nice. Full hot breakfast included is a old mountain tradition thats still alive here. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Reservations folks will explain exactly what they have available. You can also use their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellingT002, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
SteveG,
Thank you for the great review of your visit to the Mountain Chalet. We are glad you appreciate our kind of hospitality and that you enjoyed your stay with us in Aspen. We always say that our guests are our best investment! We hope to host you again soon! Best, The MCA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

It was my first time staying at this hotel and I just loved it! Great breakfast and the hotel lends itself to folks meeting each other around the Cookies and Tea bar.
Convenient location - just 100 yds. to the Gondola!

Doug

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellingT002, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Doug K,
Thanks so much for the 5 star review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we've won you over as your Aspen hotel choice!
Best,
The MCA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

There is very little of "original Aspen" left. It is still the best ski town in North America. But, the last 20 years does see it going further and further up market. The original lodges and hotels are increasingly becoming 5 star plus at corresponding prices. The Mountain Chalet is "original Aspen". The staff is friendly and the property has a European Inn quality about it. The hot breakfast every morning and apres ski drinks with cookies and coffee in between just attest to that. The rooms are getting tired. The mattress and sofa are wearing down. However, I did have a private terrace. The housekeeping is good and cleanliness is not a problem. There is a free parking garage and a pretty good hotel gym. I fear that the property is on its final leg, and I hope that I'm wrong as I sincerely hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Do not take the first room. Ask for a room facing the St. Regis. Rooms toward the front get bus no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

My husband & I had a pleasant stay. There was no "wow" factor & it's perfect for a simple, no frills stay. Considering the price, location, and room size, we were happy here. The rooms are accessed through the outdoors. We arrived in a decent sized room. I was rather impressed with the size however it was cluttered. I would've rather had more floor space & the furnishings were tacky. It smelled old & a bit funky, like visiting my grandmother's. But I have to admit, it was comfortable & I slept great!

The balcony was a nice touch too! The BREAKFAST was also remarkable. They had a nice selection and the eggs were flavorful! They even had a FRESH squeeze OJ maker which was great. The building is old, outdated, and tacky with old German paintings on the outside. They did provide parking though which was a plus!
Overall, would look elsewhere before staying again but considering the prices in Aspen, this wasn't all too bad.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ang U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELBOURNE AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have just returned from two weeks of glorious skiing in Aspen Colorado, travelling as always with my daughter. This is a trip we take every year and as always we stay at Mountain Chalet and have done for many years now. Mountain Chalet is a friendly and traditional establishment were guests are treated like family and is truly a home away from home. Hot and cold beverages, freshly baked cookies, open fires and comfy couches where guests can gaze up to the ski slopes are what Mountain Chalet is all about. There is a hot tub, sauna, gym and fabulous outside pool and every day guests are treated to a cooked breakfast with countless other food 'options'. Finish the day with après in the cosy atmosphere of the top level, giving unrivalled views of the charming town and adjacent mountains. Mountain Chalet is 100m from the transit terminal so handy for resort transfers and a short stroll to the gondola on Ajax. This family run Chalet with its friendly management and staff is the perfect place in Aspen. The more things stay the same...the better it gets!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
1.2 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Property: Mountain Chalet Aspen
Address: 333 E. Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#7 Family Hotel in Aspen
#7 Business Hotel in Aspen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing