We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Aspen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great hotel - so very convenient. In easy walking distance to slopes - restaurants, and shops. Breakfast is part of your stay and is very special. Great staff. Do not recommend going in mid May - the town is shut down between seasons but always recommend this hotel no matter the time you go.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtlGa2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Chalet Aspen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in June! We had a large room with a King bed and balcony! Room 420 to be exact! Yes the hotel is old! Rooms are dated, but they are spotlessly clean which may be more important than new! We felt very comfortable in this casual hotel that's in a great location! The breakfast & breakfast staff are great! Some of the front desk staff not so friendly, some were very friendly!! Pool was quite nice! its one of those hotels we'd definitely stay in again! A great deal for Aspen! By the way the cookies they serve in the Lobby are delicious!
We noticed new furniture going into some of rooms the day before we left, so maybe things are looking up! I hope we have the opportunity to stay again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tracy448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I had the warmest welcome and the most comfortable stay at Mountain Chalet. The hospitality was exceptional and the whole family are a delight. It's a very well run, perfectly positioned, friendly ski chalet. Lovely bar upstairs and a skiers' breakfast ready to enjoy every morning! Little touches like humidifiers, toothpaste & welcome basket etc in room and a good spa after a hard day on the slopes made for the perfect vacation. When I was snowed in and there were no taxis available the manager kindly drove me to the airport, waited patiently for my rebooking....a lengthy process....and made sure I was comfortable back at the Chalet. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteB787424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just spent a couple of nights at Mountain Chalet, and I must say we were incredibly impressed.

The hotel is obviously not a newly decorated 5* hotel, but it is a really quaint family run establishment... the furnishings and decor might be old, but everything is clean and comfortable. And even though we were in a beyond basic room, it still had a newly refurbished bathroom.

On top of the basics of your room, you also get free underground parking, free hot breakfast, free wifi, and free use of the gym, pool and hot tub.

But the best bit about Mountain Chalet is the location. Wow, it's right in the middle of Aspen, diagonally opposite the transit centre and walking distance to the slopes of Ajax. Perfect.

I thought it was charmingly good value!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank i_do_like_to_ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Booked this place at random. Built by hand by the man and family that still owns it. Gym, sauna, steam room, pool. Great breakfast. Quiet. Excellent lobby and library. Close to everything. I love the fact that the owners - now in their late 80's still eat breakfast here every day - and raised their children right in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jixsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Mountain Chalet Aspen sits in a great neighborhood; with the nearest hotels being the St. Regis, the Grand Hyatt and the Little Nell. But don't be fooled; it isn't like its neighbors at all. It is very old, and tired. They do serve an excellent breakfast that comes with the room, and the prices (for Aspen) aren't bad. But if you have visions of a fancy ski slope hotel, this isn't it. It has underground parking, which in Aspen is a big bonus. I found the front desk people to be less than friendly, which I found somewhat surprising. Overall, I would say that location is A+, the rooms are C- and the price, for what you get, still isn't much of a deal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BJB2743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

we enjoyed our stay tremendously. Aspen is very expensive, but at Mountain Chalet the rooms are affordable, nice, they serve great breakfasts with different options each day, and have 24 hour tea-and-coffee including snacks in the afternoons (cookies, muffins or pastries). Plus all the amenities needed: wifi, pool, jacuzzi, gym. And an unbeatable location, a couple of blocks from Aspen Mountain gondola and the main bus station across the street (to catch the free shuttles to Snowmass, Highlands, the airport). We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: we booked a standard room, and it was nice and large enough for 4 days. If we were staying longer...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ydc_germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 35 in Aspen
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#16 of 35 in Aspen
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Address: 333 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1839
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#7 Business Hotel in Aspen
#7 Family Hotel in Aspen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: £81 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing