We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenient, outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great things to say about the service. Very friendly, knowledgeable staff. They recognized many in our group and had details about our stay top of mind. That was impressive.

Location is excellent. We stayed in the summer, and the Gondola stops just outside. I would imagine this a great place to be if you were a skier.

The building itself is rather dated. They have wifi, but the decor, and amenities were rather old. outlets were not in the right places, etc. The rooms, get a 2 simply because they are dated. Nothing was bad, just old.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

This place is clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast is really great. That being said, they really need to update this place. The bed was terrible (think roll to the middle) and the furnishings in the room were 1950's. We were in a "standard" room and it was basically in the basement. The parking is a real plus since Aspen is always so crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BerthaB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Older, well maintained, clean. Made to order continental breakfast with very good wait staff. Parking is a premium in Aspen therefore an added bonus for this hotel is their free covered parking. Walking distance to shopping, gondolas, buses. Overall very satisfied with our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devileye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I and our two boys stayed here for a few nights in July because of positive Tripadvisor reviews. Our room was clean and bright and large enough with a nice balcony. Bed was average. We especially appreciated the convenient location and amenities like free underground parking and full breakfast. I was in the room when housekeepers came and was impressed with how thoroughly they cleaned.

Our boys used the murphy bed and there is a heavy sofa placed in front which is a pain to move out of the way, especially with limited space. Other than that, we had no issues.

We would return. Their rates are super reasonable for ski season, too.

Room Tip: Loved the fourth floor next to elevator. Noise wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank laura r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

There's nothing pretentious about this place, and it was considerably farther away from the Aspen Music Festival than we realized. But the rooms were clean, the beds good, the breakfasts adequate, and the staff friendly and helpful. And even though the location wasn't ideal for our main purposes, we enjoyed exploring the immediate neighborhoods and enjoyed the isolation from the more commercial parts of town.

Room Tip: I would ask not to be lodged in a room overlooking the hotel entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

You wouid not want to stay here if you wanted posh, luxury accommodations. You would not stay here if you needed a trendy bar, sleek restaurant and bar. This is a comfortable, traditional, family-run ski lodge - totally unpretentious. I had a junior suite - it had a sofa, microwave, mini fridge, was spacious and had a small balcony. The furniture is a bit dated but everything is clean. Parking is free. Breakfast is provided - a buffet plus one hot dish which varied each day (granola/banana pancakes, eggs benedict) brought out fresh from the kitchen. I found the staff friendly - the ladies in the breakfast room were absolutely charming. The location was perfect - we attended the food and wine classic so we could walk everywhere - it's in the heart of Aspen. The cost is well below what you would pay elsewhere. In previous years I've stayed in sleek hotels at twice the price with smaller rooms. I'm so glad I stayed at the Moutain Chalet - I will certainly return. I even hesitated to write a review as I want to make sure I get a room next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank puremichigan028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We loved staying at the Mountain Chalet. This hotel is well run. We enjoyed the amenities which included a large hot tub, a pool heated to a perfect temperature, free coffee, tea, cookies, lemonade, newspapers and brochures. It is very convenient and within walking distance to many places. Free parking which is at a premium in Aspen. And lastly the room comes with a fabulous hot breakfast. The staff is knowledgeable and helpful. The room is large with everything you need.

This is a charming comfortable older hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank twllearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
515 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#13 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Address: 333 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1839
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Aspen
#7 Family Hotel in Aspen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: £84 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing