We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain Chalet Aspen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mountain Chalet Aspen”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Mountain Chalet in Aspen for six nights the first week of August. The Mountain Chalet is a charming older hotel originating in the 1950's. The view of the surrounding mountains of Aspen were absolutely gorgeous.

We arrived near midnight the first day and easily found our temporary room key left at the closed front desk. The lobby had ice water, cold lemonade, cookies, and self-brew coffee capsules.

Our room was found to be very clean and comfortable and had a mini-fridge and a free standing heater/air conditioner (although A/C not needed in Aspen in August.)

In the morning, the hotel serves a freshly made hot breakfast that changed every day that included Denver Omelets, Eggs Benedict, French Toast with bacon and eggs, etc. Along with the hot breakfast is a buffet cold bar that included cereals, toast, bagels, fruits, and a fresh orange juice machine which guests drop in fresh oranges to receive fresh juice. All of the cooks and wait staff were extremely friendly and helpful, some even showing my wife and I pictures of mountain wildlife they had taken during hikes.

The outdoor heated pool and surrounding area was very clean and well-kept. The hotel also has a spa and sauna which we did not use but looked inviting.

We also found the housekeeping staff and front desk personnel to have been as nice and friendly as the previously mentioned breakfast staff. The different front desk men and women we spoke with at various times were also extremely helpful with our questions about backpacking routes, wildlife, elevation issues. One even drew us a map showing the way to a particular trail head.

Based on the above, we would not hesitate to recommend the Mountain Chalet Aspen to any traveler wanting a reasonably priced, clean well-kept, family-run hotel with a friendly, amiable staff.

Room Tip: Due to circumstances, we stay in three separate rooms...one economy and two deluxe. We found all thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randyk313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    123
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
112
138
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great things to say about the service. Very friendly, knowledgeable staff. They recognized many in our group and had details about our stay top of mind. That was impressive.

Location is excellent. We stayed in the summer, and the Gondola stops just outside. I would imagine this a great place to be if you were a skier.

The building itself is rather dated. They have wifi, but the decor, and amenities were rather old. outlets were not in the right places, etc. The rooms, get a 2 simply because they are dated. Nothing was bad, just old.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This place is clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast is really great. That being said, they really need to update this place. The bed was terrible (think roll to the middle) and the furnishings in the room were 1950's. We were in a "standard" room and it was basically in the basement. The parking is a real plus since Aspen is always so crowded.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerthaB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Older, well maintained, clean. Made to order continental breakfast with very good wait staff. Parking is a premium in Aspen therefore an added bonus for this hotel is their free covered parking. Walking distance to shopping, gondolas, buses. Overall very satisfied with our stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devileye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I and our two boys stayed here for a few nights in July because of positive Tripadvisor reviews. Our room was clean and bright and large enough with a nice balcony. Bed was average. We especially appreciated the convenient location and amenities like free underground parking and full breakfast. I was in the room when housekeepers came and was impressed with how thoroughly they cleaned.

Our boys used the murphy bed and there is a heavy sofa placed in front which is a pain to move out of the way, especially with limited space. Other than that, we had no issues.

We would return. Their rates are super reasonable for ski season, too.

Room Tip: Loved the fourth floor next to elevator. Noise wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dosmadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

There's nothing pretentious about this place, and it was considerably farther away from the Aspen Music Festival than we realized. But the rooms were clean, the beds good, the breakfasts adequate, and the staff friendly and helpful. And even though the location wasn't ideal for our main purposes, we enjoyed exploring the immediate neighborhoods and enjoyed the isolation from the more commercial parts of town.

Room Tip: I would ask not to be lodged in a room overlooking the hotel entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Mi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

You wouid not want to stay here if you wanted posh, luxury accommodations. You would not stay here if you needed a trendy bar, sleek restaurant and bar. This is a comfortable, traditional, family-run ski lodge - totally unpretentious. I had a junior suite - it had a sofa, microwave, mini fridge, was spacious and had a small balcony. The furniture is a bit dated but everything is clean. Parking is free. Breakfast is provided - a buffet plus one hot dish which varied each day (granola/banana pancakes, eggs benedict) brought out fresh from the kitchen. I found the staff friendly - the ladies in the breakfast room were absolutely charming. The location was perfect - we attended the food and wine classic so we could walk everywhere - it's in the heart of Aspen. The cost is well below what you would pay elsewhere. In previous years I've stayed in sleek hotels at twice the price with smaller rooms. I'm so glad I stayed at the Moutain Chalet - I will certainly return. I even hesitated to write a review as I want to make sure I get a room next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank puremichigan028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#12 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
1.1 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#4 of 34 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#11 of 34 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Property: Mountain Chalet Aspen
Address: 333 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1839
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#7 Business Hotel in Aspen
#7 Family Hotel in Aspen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing