We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gantastic!”
Review of The Gant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gant
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gantastic!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Gant last summer and absolutely fell in love with the property and Aspen. It was nice to go in the summertime, had a very mellow vibe and very private. I loved the balcony but the view wasn't great.

The decor was breathtaking - I must have taken 100 pics of the "Antlerier" The fireplace was the perfect touch to a romantic long weekend. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    142
    34
    9
    8
See reviews for
368
221
16
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My experience at The Gant started with miss understandings but ended with genuine disappointment that our 12 days was ending. To prevent the types of miss understandings that caused our problems. Book with The Gant directly, this way you know exactly what you are booking and getting by the way of room provisions. As this is owner owned condominiums', though each condominium has much the same floor plan and size, the finishes, decorations and type of appliances, including whether there is a washing machine and dryer inside the condo, or the type of shower, if there is a spa, type of oven, microwave etc. vary greatly, so by booking direct you can use The Gants own booking system (worked out on décor and quality finishes), and specifically ask for the items you require. Note there are laundries on each level of each block if you are happy not to have the in room convenience. If using an intermediary in Australia, note that they use a different system to The Gants own system.
Noise can be a problem at the Gant, during our stay we had 2 rooms, one on ground level, where the noise from above and the partying next door were unwelcome intrusions. When we moved to the 4th floor, it was much quieter. During the day I was not affected by the construction noise on either level, but we were at the back of buildings, in F and G blocks. There is a 7 minute walk to the Aspen Spa and Club, or you can catch the shuttle, I enjoyed the Yoga classes. It is probably catering more to those needing to be pampered.
What I loved was the staff and the shuttle. It is these that MAKE The Gant. The shuttle bus drivers are very knowledgeable, they always checked that I knew where I was going when they dropped me off, answered all questions, be it about times or food options, bars etc, and were always careful when children were concerned. Remember to bring enough money for gratuities if coming outside of the USA. Office staff listened and answered all difficult questions, and the concierge, Marty especially, rose to the challenge of finding things to entertain a none skier. A big thank you to Meg for her patience, and can do attitude.
Though a bit out of town, the shuttle makes it easy to get around, and when you get your baring's it is only really a short walk to most things. A well stocked supermarket catering for many dietary requirements is 2 blocks away, or a short shuttle ride if you purchase more than you can carry. Be sure to take the courtesy bags with you when you leave the Gant, or you may need to purchase bags at the supermarket.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room in F or G blocks of you value peace, or want a view. If you have small chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willowMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Spent 7 nights at The Gant recently. Highly recommend this great accommodation. The staff were exceptionally friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had a couple of issues with our room in terms of maintenance (which had not been reported to them earlier) and they went out of their way to rectify the issues (which did not effect us in anyway).

We had the maintenance person leave us a note to inform us of the status of the issues and a follow up phone call from the supervisor to make sure we were happy. On top of that, we were left a bottle of wine and some lovely cookies for the inconvenience (which really was not necessary, but appreciated and enjoyed).

The Gant runs a terrific shuttle service which is always available for you to go to the airport, the main gondola, the bus terminal or anywhere else you need to go in town. We found it amusing that we always knew where The Gant bus was because of its rustling chains underneath dragging on the road (they have an automatic chain fitting system).

My only issue I had (and it could not have been helped), was that the plumbing system was a little noisy and creaked during the night, which kept me awake on the first night, but a set of earplugs seemed to fix the issue and was not noticed after that. It may have just been our room (F203).

The rooms were spacious (we had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment with kitchen), and with only 2 of us, had lots of room (we were upgraded on arrival).

There was a laundry available close to us which there was no charge (you just need to pay a small fee for the detergent).

Will definitely be going back to The Gant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raeleigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Having stayed here numerous times The Gant never fail to live up to expectations. We had booked a 3 bedroom standard apartment & upon checkin we were upgraded to the Deluxe apartment. Well appointed rooms with lots of extras. Steam room in one bathroom, large screen tv's in all bedrooms, sound system in living area.It was on the ground floor & had it's own washer & dryer. The shuttle service was excellent as always. Pick up & drop off from airport was prompt. Will return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyqAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just came back from a 5 night stay at a condo at the Gant. Can't say enough about the staff, who were lovely. Asked to be moved after the first night, because our room had the telltale smells of a smoker and the impossible task of trying to cover that up with deoderizer. Not a problem. They moved our bags while we skied and our second condo was perfect. Efficient shuttle service from airport and from the Gant into town. We will definitely return when next in Aspen.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NowhereHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here recently with my family and we were put in a room next to the lobby. There was so much noise and the walls and windows have no soundproofing to them. My family had a horrible night of sleep and management was hardly sympathetic. For the price, do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at the Gant over President's weekend 2014. Although the unit is lovely, the front bedroom with 2 Queen beds should not be used for sleeping. At 2 AM a group of young men returned from the bars talking loudly and clomped up several flights of stairs just outside our room. This awakened both of us in the front bedroom. We were awakened again at 5:30 AM with people standing right outside our bedroom window waiting on transportation. It turns out all pick up and deliveries are right outside the bedroom window in A102! Then began the ski shuttle with large crowds stomping in ski boots outside the window while the Gant shuttled them to the slopes. If you are planning to sleep, DO NOT stay in A102!!
I explained my dissatisfaction with the sound-proofing yet the Gant management did nothing about it. They offered us a discount on our future stay--don't believe we will return when there are so many luxury condos in Aspen! Also, they are currently building a new conference center. When we tried to relax by the pool/hot tub in the afternoon we couldn't even talk to one another the pounding and drilling was so loud. Go someplace else if you want a peaceful stay! The windows in this property are not sound proof and the construction noise is awful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou E, Director of Sales at The Gant, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
I appreciate your feedback regarding the noise level from the bedroom in A102. We sincerely apologize about this negatively affecting your stay. We completely understand the frustration this has caused you and will look into ways to mitigate any noise that this room receives. In an effort to reconcile the situation, our management team extended your check out time from 10:00 AM to 5:30 PM. Additionally we offered a sizeable discount off a future stay at The Gant. Unfortunately we could not refund the entire stay as requested. We genuinely hope you will reconsider returning to The Gant in the future so that we have the opportunity to offer you a restful stay in Aspen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.5 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.4 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 34 in Aspen
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.7 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 34 in Aspen
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gant

Property: The Gant
Address: 610 S West End St, Aspen, CO 81611-2142
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Aspen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#6 Business Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gant 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gant is Aspen's finest condominium resort. A resort within a resort, The Gant offers high quality, friendly hotel services at the highest level of any Aspen condominium property. Situated in a peaceful enclave at the base of Aspen Mountain with convenient access to downtown and the ski lifts. The Gant's privately owned condominiums are regularly refurbished and fully equipped, offering the comforts of home to today's travelers and meeting guests, with the services of a hotel.The Gant's conference center will undergo a $5-million renovation and expansion that includes a new specialty cafe, panoramic rooftop deck, flexible indoor and outdoor floor plans, and contemporary new furnishings, accessories. This project artfully blends function, style and sustainability to create a multi-use mountain venue suitable for varied gatherings ranging from special events, weddings and private celebrations to corporate meetings, business retreats and incentive trips. The 10-month project begins in August 2013. Throughout the winter season construction will be limited so as not to disrupt surrounding condominium guests. The project will be complete in May 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gant Hotel Aspen
The Gant Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing