We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good”
Review of The Inn at Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Aspen
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pretty good”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed there on a trip to aspen and it wasn't bad. The rooms were clean and it is pretty nice. The food is good too. Get the fish tacos!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biancia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    60
    29
    10
    12
See reviews for
54
57
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I stayed here while doing some work in Aspen. It was great having a hotel that is close to town and one that had a restaurant on site, but I don't think that i would stay here if i was looking for a plush, fancy hotel while on vacation. Like other reviews have said, the staff was nice, but didn't go out of their way to make me comfortable. The restaurant was really what the name said, a bar and grill. The food was nothing to write home about. The bed and room were very nice and well decorated, but the bathroom was outdated. They try to offer touches that higher-end hotels do, but don't quite get there. For instance, they have robes in the room, but they are scratchy and not soft at all. All in all, I think I would stay here again, but only if I am on a budget or working in the area and not looking to be pampered.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank softballguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

If you're looking for something with frills and to really be a great experience this isn't the place. If you want something ski in ski out, a good price point and quiet and not close to town, then this will do just fine. The restaurant on site is okay, not great. The staff is friendly, but not going to jump when you say so. It is a few minute drive to town, but otherwise, it's just fine if you're only looking for a room to wind down in after a day out and about.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarehegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed at the Inn at Aspen while attending one of our kids ski races. The races were primarily located at Buttermilk Mtn, so the location for us was outstanding. Walk 40 steps from the hotel door and drop your skis at the lift.

Overall location in Aspen is ok, a 5 min drive to downtown Aspen for dinner and about 10 min drive to Snowmass. There is a free shuttle to move you from Mtn to Mtn. (If you are headed to Aspen for a family vacation with kids, you may want to stay closer to Snowmass)

The staff is simply wonderful. The food at the resturant is above average and reasonably priced for the locale.

The common areas, restaurant, lounge and hallways are all well kept and excellent condition and cleanliness. The hotel is a little older, so rooms are fairly small, but well kept as for cleanliness and condition.

The beds were horrible.They need to be replaced. I think that each unit is individually owned (like a condo) so this may be related to just our room.

Overall, this hotel is a good location and value.

Room Tip: The top floor ( 2/2) provides outside balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiCrazyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We were there for two nights and would recommend this hotel just because of all the people who work there. Everyone was very nice and eager to assist, especially the bartender.The hotel is located about two miles from Aspen, but they have a complimentary shuttle any time you need it that runs until 10 PM. It is a perfect location for skiers. The lift for Buttermilk Mountain is right outside the back of the hotel. The continental breakfast had a wide variety with "make your own waffles" and the restaurant had really good pizza!!. The king room was clean and spacious but in need of updating. I understand each unit is individually owned so you might be able to request an updated unit. Be sure to ask for a room that overlooks the pool and mountain.

Room Tip: Our room rate dropped dramatically as we got closer to arrival date and they had not filled the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TB1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Yes, the place is outdated and rooms are not attractive but for Aspen, the prices were reasonable (summer season) and the room was spacious enough. There was a small kitchenette and a tiny bathroom. The place was quiet and the breakfast was good. I would suggest you get breakfast earlier rather than later - most pastries had run out when we showed up at 930am (continental breakfast served 7 to 10). 

Free shuttle to town, friendly driver.

Pool was nice, but water was too warm for my preference. Almost hot tub warm!

Our room was far from front desk and Internet signal was patchy. I ended up using my phone I 3G.

Housekeeping service woke us up a bit earlier than we wanted to wake up but not horribly early (830am). We had forgotten to put the don't disturb sign outside. Bummer. Friendly staff, housekeeper was playing peekaboo with my son, which I always appreciate on busy people. 

Overall, okay place. Not Aspen fancy so don't expect too much!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaKnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Hotel is a great location to the mountain and you do get a nice continental breakfast, but for the price you get a room that greatly needs renovating and an unfriendly staff. There was a clanking noise going on in the bathroom during the day and night. When we informed the front desk about it the lady seemed completely uninterested and never followed up with us. The clanking was annoying, but thankfully did not keep us awake at night for the most part. The crib that we had to pay $10 for a night was old and slanted towards the middle - it did not seem very safe (definitely not new) and I thought about not having my son sleep in it, but we had no other option. Without going into all of the details we experienced more rudeness from housekeeping and the lady at the front desk. I am truly not someone who complains and this is actually my first time ever even writing a negative review. I was so frustrated after staying there that I felt I had to write something.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank segmn4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
500 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
2.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
2.4 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Aspen

Property: The Inn at Aspen
Address: 38750 Highway 82, Aspen, CO 81611-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Inn at Aspen Hotel is the only ski-in, ski-out hotel at the base of the Buttermilk Ski Resort (home of the Winter X Games). The free guest shuttle will take you to/from Aspen (2 miles away), and the Aspen airport. There's an onsite restaurant, Home Team BBQ, serving breakfast, lunch, apres ski and dinner; free wireless Internet, heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, health club, and courtesy airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aspen And Conference

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing