We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Aspen
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Ferris, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very well worth the money. It was by far the most affordable place around. The check in person was great and very informative the rooms were recently remodeled and very comfortable. I loved my stay even though I didn't care for the town of Aspen too much.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bjaytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    57
    29
    9
    12
See reviews for
52
53
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed here for a lacrosse tournament at a discounted rate during the off season. We asked for a renovated room which was nicely redone and overlooked the pool. It was very quiet and the restaurant and bar were closed for the season. Front desk staff was helpful and there was coffee and hot chocolate an tea available in the lounge area.
Beds are very comfortable and the rooms include refrigerators and microwaves so even though they did not serve breakfast we were fine with food that we brought (we had very early morning games and not enough time to dine out anywhere else).

The rooms were not the cleanest but everything was in working order. So for Aspen during the off season the accommodations were fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Type-A-Mother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
156 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

It is a typical american hotel, 02 queens bed with good amentities at the room, coffe , soda machines, snacks at each corner of hotel, a very good pool outside near the rooms and the ski elevator is outside the hotel, a very good facility. It is not a new hotel, but you can not seems oldest things around the hotel, the staff are very polite and have a free parking, near the city, at abou 2,5 miles....if you stay with childrens that is a good choise for your family, if you stay in a couple too, but if you stay in bussines( bussiness in Aspen??) it is not a very good.The breakfast is good but not expresive, a like the hotel and return for the same...try to stay at the first floor....

Room Tip: rooms at the first floor, a good rooms 1220 until 1230.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorgeotavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Location is perfect at the base of Buttermilk ski mountain! Your are also between downtown Aspen and Snowmass. Free buffet during ski season, the staff are helpful, informative and very nice. The drive of the hotel is always ready to take you to down town Aspen and bring you back to the hotel. Rooms are spacious and many of the rooms have a great view. Love to use the gym, pool hot tub and steam room.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of Buttermilk mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daynett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

For anyone who has stayed here in the past, big changes. Updated rooms and bathrooms, although the elevator has yet to be installed. The location is perfect, at the base of Buttermilk and about midway between downtown Aspen and Snowmass. A cooked breakfast buffet is free, as is Internet access. The restaurant is good.. not gourmet, but reasonally priced and the menu varied enough to make anyone happy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back that looks over the pool and hot tub but especially, the ski resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deebee29494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEnver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed at the Inn at Aspen and I loved the entire experience expecially the bartenders. Chad and Stu were amazing and made sure everyone was taken care of. This is definitely a place everyone should venture to.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

The Inn at Aspen is located at the base of Buttermilk Ski Mtn.

I had a great time at the Inn and will be back.

Location Airport
The Inn is about 2.5 miles away from the airport and the Inn provides a free shuttle so it is great for getting to your accommodations quickly after a long day of travel. It is also nice when leaving because you don't have to get up too early or worry about lots of traffic.

Location Ski Mtns
It is great to be able to get on the lift feet away from the door. Also the lift ticket office and ski rentals are across from each other not very far from the lift. Near the ticket office there is the shuttle stop. Shuttles for Aspen Highlands, Snowmass and Aspen (town) stop to drop off and pick up. Check shuttle times because they are different for the various ski areas. The Highlands Ski (mtn is about 7-10mins away) shuttle runs about every 15-20mins during peak times but Snowmass shuttle runs every hour (mtn is about 20mins away).

No car...no worries. The town and Inn makes it very easy to get around. The bus stop is yards away from the Inn. The Inn has a shuttle that runs until around 10pm and provides free rides to Aspen downtown on demand (if they don't have airport pick ups) but the bus also goes downtown for free, it takes about 10-15mins. The bus that runs until around 2am comes about every 20mins but check the schedule for off peak times. The bus also goes to Snowmass (you can take your skis) for free (takes about 20mins) so if you are going to the mtn for skiing and you miss the shuttle at Buttermilk you can walk across the street to catch the Snowmass bus.

Accommodations

The rooms are basic hotel size rooms. Some have double queens some have king beds. There are rooms that face the parking lot and rooms that face the slopes. Because the rooms have different owners they have different decor. Some have been updated others not but I think they are planning to have all of them updated.

Even some of the updated rooms need a little TLC. In the room I stayed in the bathroom door didn't have an inside knob to slide the door open, there is no soap dish and no room to place a shampoo bottle in the shower. It would also be helpful to have a towel rack to hang wet towels. Also there was no remote for the DVD player that we could find.

For the remodeled rooms there are flat screen TVs, DVD players, refrigerators, desk, love seat, microwave in our room (great!!!) and wireless internet (a little slow). There is a humidifier and I would suggest to use it because the air is extremely dry. The heaters work well but they can be a little loud.

The Inn has two floors and on the first floor there are ski lockers for one set of boots and skis. Because we rented our skis there at buttermilk they stored and transported our skis for free so we used the lockers to store boots. The common area is just OK...it is not very inviting but functional.

Staff

One of the best features of the Inn is the staff. They are very helpful and friendly! .The Van drivers can give you great tips about where to shop, dine and party. Some of them can give you some history about the town as well.

Food
A breakfast buffet is included with the price of the room. They usually have bagels, toast, oatmeal, two types of scrambled eggs, hashbrowns, sausage, fruit, cereal and juice. I think breakfast last until around 10:30. It is a little chilly in the dining room so dress warmly.

Dinner is good and there is also a bar near the gas fireplace. I think there are two computers where you can check your email.

Overall
The best thing about this Inn is the location to ski mtns. It is at Buttermilk and access to other mtns is within less than 20mins. If you are staying in downtown Aspen it will take 25-30mins to Snowmass. If you are at Snowmass it will take 25-30mins mins to the Highlands.

We had massages in our rooms which was a nice treat. The therapist were recommended by the Inn.

If you want to do something else other than buttermilk you have to have transportation. This can be the downside but we didn't have any trouble with free public transportation and hotel shuttles.

The staff is great, the rooms are fine but could use a little more attention to detail.

Room Tip: I preferred mountain side. If you don't like stairs get a room on the 1st floor (there is no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
2.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
1.5 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Aspen

Property: The Inn at Aspen
Address: 38750 Highway 82, Aspen, CO 81611-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Inn at Aspen Hotel is the only ski-in, ski-out hotel at the base of the Buttermilk Ski Resort (home of the Winter X Games). The free guest shuttle will take you to/from Aspen (2 miles away), to any of Aspen's 3 other ski areas or the Aspen airport. There's an onsite restaurant, McKenney's at the Inn, serving breakfast, lunch, apres ski and dinner; free wireless Internet, heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, health club, and courtesy airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Inn at Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aspen And Conference

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing