We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The room was just right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Denver International Airport
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Aurora
Rangely, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The room was just right”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. I took advantage of a package deal that included a night's lodging, shuttle service to the airport, and a week's parking. This is my first experience with this chain but if most properties are similar to this one it will be my new first choice! The room was small, as most budget chains tend to be, but felt spacious enough. My bed was a queen size, and very comfortable. The room was extremely clean and free of odors. The bathroom had a walk-in shower with a door instead of a tub, which is actually my preference (no icky shower curtains to have to avoid touching). My room was well lit and had plenty of electrical outlets for charging things. The climate control worked fine and wasn't too noisy. the wireless internet and TV worked perfectly. The housekeeping staff was very helpful and friendly, though they did not speak english very well. They very graciously refrained from laughing at me as I struggled with my spanish, and we managed to communicate fine.

Now for the negatives, which are few: The property was a little hard to find because the signage was not well lit at night and the entrance is from a side street, not the street address. The pillows were not comfortable at all. They were almost square shaped instead of rectangle, more like large throw pillows designed more for appearance than comfort. The bedspread was one of those old fashioned motel polyester floral print jobs that always makes you wonder how often it is cleaned and what might be revealed by a black-light (yuck). The complimentary breakfast was not great, but pretty much what I expected. The Coffee was not very good, at all. Also, they do not keep complimentary coffee out after serving hours (probably a blessing, given the quality of it). I just needed another dose while waiting for the next scheduled shuttle to the airport. I did discover one of the best cups of coffee I've ever had at the upscale hotel next door, which was complimentary even after I told them I wasn't a guest. The desk staff could have been more helpful. While not rude it was clear that I was not the most important thing on their minds and they did not go out of their way to be helpful.

All in all, an extremely good experience, if not quite excellent and given the price point, this hotel represents an excellent value. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    83
    87
    51
    48
See reviews for
61
97
36
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
167 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Instead of getting up very early for a flight out of DIA, we stayed here the night before our trip. The room was basic but had everything we needed - a comfortable bed, hot shower with water pressure, soap and shampoo, a continental breakfast and shuttle to the airport. The stay and park must be booked directly with the hotel.

On return, you call the hotel from the baggage claim area and they will send the shuttle to pick you up. It took about 20 minutes for it to arrive and then another 20 back to the hotel. At first we thought this was a long time but when we considered the alternative of the airport parking shuttle to the outlying parking lots and realized when we got to our car we were already 15 minutes closer to home, this was a very good choice. We will likely stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2skidivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2012

It was basically to catch my flight in the morning. It was affordable and not worrying about driving in the maze going to DIA (Denver International Airport) was a relief. Had a problem in my first room with A/c, and I was quickly given another. That one was awesome. However, there were two things that made me hesitant. 1) the smell of chlorine from the pool was overwhelming. You can smell it as soon as you come in. 2) (and I agree with SpeedyWY) checking was ok as long as you did not inconvenience the girl at the front desk. I guess her cell phone is more important than you. Besides those 2 things, i will return again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankl202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Fairly clean, fairly new, indoor pool is clean. Close to the airport. There are alot of eateries around the place.

I had a rental car and never took a shuttle bus. The desk people were very nice. I prefer a thermostat but this place has low, med, and high. Still not too bad.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Let me start by saying, checking in is ok so long as you don't inconvenience the girl from her cell phone. Then you get the run down smelly room. Oh and just because they have camera's in the parking lot your vehicle is not safe,mine got broken into while there and the front desk wouldn't even contact police for me, I had to find the number and call for a report from my cell, police asked to review the video and the front desk said he would have to come back in a week when the manager was back, they are not allowed to let anyone see the tape. This hotel was a nightmare from beginning to end. Funny I never got my usual survey to fill out after my stay? Wonder why?

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeedyWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is very nice and very clean. The staff is kind and the breakfast good. However I had chosen this hotel because it offers a shuttle bus to and from the airport. While the service to the airport was perfect, the service from the airport was terrible. Once arrived in DIA, I called the hotel to let them know that I was at the shuttle bus platform, waiting for their bus. They told me that the shuttle would have been there in 5 minutes. I waited more than 40 minutes before it arrived. Shuttle buses of other hotels had the time to pass three times! A couple of American tourist was already at the platform before me: they had to wait about one hour.
It could have been a bad day.... but I will not chose this hotel anymore.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed for one night to catch flight early next morning. Could not connect to wifi from my laptop so I tried my iPad. No luck. My son tried his laptop. Still no good. Called front desk and was told the internet was working correctly. Went down to lobby, and it was the same story. I went back to the room and was able to connect to the wifi from the hotel across the street.
The room itself was reasonably clean, however the bathroom door would not close completely and did not give adequate privacy. Otherwise, the room was acceptable, and the beds were comfortable.
The morning was another disappointment. We had to catch the 5 a.m. shuttle to the airport so we were unable to have the hotel breakfast which starts at 6. I was hoping to get some coffee, but was told that coffee was not available and I would have to walk to a 7-11 located about a block away and buy it.
Overall, the hotel was reasonably clean, and it is convenient to the airport. However, the lack of working wifi, and the absence of available coffee at 5 am really brings the value of this hotel down. I will NOT stay here again, and I recommend you stay someplace else, too.

Room Tip: You can pick up a fairly strong wifi signal from the hotel across the street if you stay on the east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurora
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Denver Airport
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Denver Airport Gateway Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Denver International Airport
0.9 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites - Denver Airport at Gateway Park
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Denver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Denver International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Denver International Airport

Property: Econo Lodge Denver International Airport
Address: 15900 E 40th Ave, Aurora, CO 80011-0804 (Formerly Sleep Inn Denver International Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aurora
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Aurora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Denver International Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Denver International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Denver International Airport Hotel Aurora
Sleep Inn Aurora
Aurora Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing