We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly... because if the pet made a mess, no one would notice.”
Review of Ashford Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashford Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashford
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Oh my. Fourteen hours on the road that day was no excuse.
The place looks ok from the outside, but once in the rooms, not so much.
Furniture hadn't been updated in probably 40 years. The TV got one channel. Heat didn't work.
And the bathroom... looked like someone had tried to paint the tub and the sink, and that might have been blood on the tile. The cat chased something all night... I don't even want to know.
Checked out before dawn, didn't stick around to get my ten dollar pet deposit back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rrruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

This motel keep improving year by year. I stayed here in January 2012 with apprehension based on some of the other reviews I read, however - the people who worked here during my stay were very courteous. The whole mote was clean and everything looked better than last year.New room,New Heat-pump, New Carpet, New furniture. Location was awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank kupila03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The ashford motel is a dump. The whole room is filthy and It smells horrible. The bed smells like a mixture of BO and cat urine. I had to use my own sheets and blankets. There was advertisements for prostitutes written on the inside of the desk drawers. Everything is out dated and just gross.
I will never stay at this place again and I wouldn't recommend anyone else staying here either.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jshpell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Went here for Brimfield Antique Show. Room was updated somewhat with new paint, and a new sink. However, carpet was damp, Bathtub was filthy, furniture dating from the 1960's was in bad shape, and to top it off there was no hot water one day. This is a cheap place to stay, but you get less than what you pay for. Left two days early, and management kept our money. At least they told us that up front!! I would recommend paying more to stay somewhere else until these Moteliers get their act together, and realize you have to give to get. There are people living there due to economy - beware! they set off fireworks, and damge the grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlr1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Ahh The Ashford motel, I have been staying here for years. They have been slowly updating the rooms with modern heating units and new carpets. The bathrooms are still as they were. I dont expect 5 star accomaditons But it is well worth the price.

Good Price, Good value.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Luke18224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

If you are looking for a pristine room this isn't the lodgings for you. The rooms have not been redecorated in many years. Flaws abound. But if you need a cheap, decent place to simply sleep, in a nice woodsy location, in a true drive-up-to-your-door motel, then this is the perfect place. And they have wifi! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RickLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We just hosted a family reunion and this motel was one that I had on our guest list to stay. I did not go there to check it out. MY MISTAKE. We did not know how bad it was until our guest arrived at our house after the first night.
Our first guest did stay there. They were the first of 4 rooms so they must have gotten the only good one they had. They did say if they come back here they will not be staying there.
Our next guest read the reviews and dicided not to stay there and chose the Best Western just a few miles up the road.
Our next guest got to there room, but the toilet did not flush and the room stunk. So they left and went to the Best Wesern.
Our next 2 guest arrived late was not happy, bugs, ripped curtins and the rug was absolutely dicussing, (kept there shoe on at all times, even wore flip flops in the shower), but did stay the night. They checked out the next morning and went to the Best Western. Hope this will help if you are thinking about staying here.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank lovefamilyTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
8.7 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#13 of 14 in Sturbridge
724 reviews
12.1 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
442 reviews
11.7 mi away
Scottish Inn Sturbridge
Scottish Inn Sturbridge
#6 of 14 in Sturbridge
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
615 reviews
12.1 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
19.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Motel

Address: 26 Ashford Motel Rd, Ashford, CT 06278-2122
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range: £44 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashford Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended cost-conscious motel in Connecticut's Quiet Corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Ashford Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Hotel Ashford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing