We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing within miles.. however, Keep driving!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Midway Restaurant & Pizza
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Ashford
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing within miles.. however, Keep driving!”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We were hoping to catch a bite to eat along our travels, and this is a place we should have passed! We arrived and were told we could seat ourselves. the service was efficent, and the beverages and the fried mushrooms were both served cold. Well, the fried mushrooms were not served cold. They were served frozen in the center. Chicken soup had no chicken and was burnt broth. Imagine? Dont order a dinner. I think you might be better off with a pizza!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wetsuitsdrymartinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    15
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sleeper on Rte. 44 - don't pass it by”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The Midway has been here for years, rebuilt from the ashes of a fire several years back. Unpretentious, you might pass it by. DON'T!

This is a hidden gem. Lunch is generous and tasty, dinner more of the same. At reasonable prices. Classic waitstaff who care about how you enjoy the food they just delivered to you.

If you are on the Providence to Hartford run or just visiting UConn, stop by or take a detour to this classic local restaurant. Things are done the old way. Good food, not fast food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

On a recent Friday night we ordered a large cheese pizza, two grinders and chicken wings. The wing were good, although they were fried as opposed to grilled. The Italian Special grinder was great. Roastbeef grinder was a bit skimpy on the roastbeef. Kids really enjoyed the pizza. Pizza was cut in triangles.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank psc96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeastern ct
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“meh.”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We live here. In a pinch, the pizza is fine. (just fine.) As well as drinks from the bar. But the remainder of the menu is less than fine. I wish this wasn't the truth, but it is. Even the french fries are meh- not even greasy, salty, yet decadent....Nope. None of that. Mediocre at best, as I've said
The family that owns this is Greek. Get a great cook that can do Greek specialties, push them as specials; have them be as delicious as Greek food can be- and we will be your slaves (at the register)! The area is so limited for good, reasonably priced food that is not "bar" food, that they would have a ready audience.
Please!!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mustlovedawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
Reviewed 5 May 2009

My family loves the pizza at Midway. Given a choice between Midway and Willington Pizza II, this one is better...and no weird square slices. The service is quick and friendly.

    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HoffDNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Midway Restaurant & Pizza also viewed

 
Ashford, Mystic Country
Ashford, Mystic Country
 

Been to Midway Restaurant & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing