We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a wedding reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avon Old Farms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ideal for a wedding reception”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Visited here for a wedding and found the Avon Old Farms Hotel to be fantastic. Lovely location, pleasantly surrounded by trees and other greenery, also very convenient as just off the highway. A local farm shop is within walking distance and there's an extremely good bagel shop down the road too. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable to sleep in. Staff were excellent, couldn't be more helpful, the bar/pub was brilliant and the area for the wedding reception couldn't have been better. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Good help yourself full breakfast in the morning too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    118
    59
    27
    21
See reviews for
96
77
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malden, NL
Level Contributor
378 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed here only 1 night on a business trip in April 2012. I choose this hotel because of easy access to the Uconn Health Center area. The hotel is beautifully located in the Connecticut countryside. It is much larger than I expected from the website. The hotel has a cozy atmosphere which I liked. Staff was helpful and friendly.

I had a huge room with a comfortable bed. Internet was very slow during the afternoon but later on speed improved. I missed a coffee maker in my room. There is free coffee in the reception desk area but that’s quite a long walk.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHOC-GM, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
We appreciate your time in sharing your experience and were glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have in-room coffee makers available though fine we can offer a superior product through our full systems and french press in the restaurant. We will review your comments and see if we can better accomodate our guests in the future. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent one night here preparing for a move out of state.

On arrival, Andrew at the front desk was polite, but not very friendly. We didn't find the warm hospitality we would have expected from a country-styled inn.

Since previous reviews had touted the hotel as "charming", I was prepared for something very quaint. While the pretty 4-poster beds were indeed very reminiscent of a cozy New England Inn, the room in general was just really quite dated.

The heating/cooling system was the older type with the old fashioned knobs on a unit under the window. It was maddening trying to regulate the temperature throughout the night with no real settings to go by other than the ol' "left for hot; right for cold."

The room lacked even the most basic coffee pot, which I had thought was pretty much a staple in hotel rooms these days. Coffee and tea were available in the lobby, but I guess I've been spoiled to not want to have to shower and dress just to get coffee in the morning. Room service would deliver a 1/2 pot (enough for 2-1/2 cups) for $5, plus 18% gratuity, plus a $4 service charge. Uh.... yeah.

The room was mostly clean, with dust having built up in the corners, and a thick collection of dust on the ceiling fan in the bathroom.

In the bathroom, the towels were very rough and scratchy, as if the hotel needed to stock up on fabric softener. There was no wastebasket in the bathroom itself, although the very pretty cloth laundry basket for towels was a nice touch under the sink. The older style telephone in the bathroom was placed in such an odd location, it elicited a chuckle. I am including a photo of that corner of the room, which became a bit crowded with cords dangling into the sink. (Note the nearby old light switch and heat lamp setting, which haven't been replaced for generations.)

On the plus side, the bedding was fluffy and luxuriant, with feather pillows and comforters. There was a brown stain on my comforter, which was far enough away from my face that I was able to overlook it.

Overall, I can't say that I would stay here again - but it wasn't my worst experience either. I can deal with "old" as long as it is done intentionally, is clean, and comes with warm hospitality. I can't say that was entirely the case here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Royal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHOC-GM, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed account of your stay. Upon reading this our team has set to work to begin improvements on areas mentioned. We strive to offer a superior product and will work until all of our guests feel this way. I invite you to contact myself or the management team to discuss this stay further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed here for a business visit to hartford! so beautiful and nice than all the chain hotels.I chose it as i wanted something different than the regular chain hotel.The people are great and very helpful.the drive from airport to the hotel is one u will fall in love with.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaustubh_limaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHOC-GM, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
We are delighted that you could stay with us and experience our hospitality. We look forward to your next stay in the Farmington River Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Great old fashioned New England get away. Kind an curteous staff, excellent accomodations...like old fashioned, slow paced hotels of the past. Love it. Stay there every time we are in the Avon Valley.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 91942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHOC-GM, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for your nice comments on the stay. We are glad that you enjoy our true New England style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Christmas holiday while visiting with my family in Simsbuy. The hotel looks slightly dubious from the outside, but the rooms are VERY clean and comfortable. The beds are lovely with feather mattresses - very snuggly on a cold winter's night. Bath rooms are clean and bright with nice toiletries. coffeemaker in the room, but all-day coffee in the lobby is better!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaJ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHOC-GM, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you join us on your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This was our second stay at Avon Old Farms Hotel. Lovely canopy draped bed. Bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and the sheets were high quality(very soft). Would definately stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
3.3 mi away
The Simsbury Inn
The Simsbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Simsbury
190 reviews
5.4 mi away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#4 of 7 in Farmington
248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
8.1 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Hartford Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Old Farms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Old Farms Hotel

Property: Avon Old Farms Hotel
Address: 279 Avon Mountain Road, Avon, CT 06001-3942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avon Old Farms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Avon Old Farms Hotel - a luxury hotel in the suburbs of Greater Hartford, CT in the picturesque Farmington River Valley. In fact, Yankee Magazine has rated us a "Best of the Best" lodging property. The Avon Old Farms Hotel has also received a Mobil Three-Star Award and AAA Three Diamond Award.Our hotel began as a 24-unit motel in 1955 and through two expansions has grown into a 160-room luxury hotel in Avon, Connecticut resting on 20 acres of manicured landscape with all of the services and amenities desired by the modern corporate and leisure guest. As a guest of the Avon Old Farms Hotel, you can expect a distinctive ambiance representing luxury and charm including fine furnishings, down featherbeds, four-poster beds, antiques, and original watercolor paintings of the historic area in which we reside. Our classic approach to service means that guests will be pampered and appreciate our innovative attention to detail and willingness to accommodate. Additionally, our unique facilities - including the handsome, state-of-the-art conference facilities, stunning banquet space, and lush outdoor garden areas - make us a leading choice for meetings, corporate events, weddings, and social affairs in the Greater Hartford area.Guests of the Avon Old Farms Hotel enjoy the award-winning and stunning Seasons Restaurant and Tap Room serving inspired innovative American cuisine.We look forward to welcoming you to our luxurious country hotel in Avon, Connecticut just 10 minutes from downtown Hartford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Avon Old Farms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ct Hotel Avon Old Farms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing