We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint New England Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avon Old Farms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quaint New England Hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel for the area. I was married in the hotel 25 years ago and went for a weekend visit with my wife. We enjoyed the hotel just as much the second time. Make sure you don't stay in t he old rooms.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    121
    60
    29
    21
See reviews for
101
80
24
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel three times over the past year due to location. On previous visits, my rooms were satisfactory although a little tired and in need of upgrades. On my last visit, we were relegated to a motel-style room that was street side. Upon walking into the room, we immediately said this was unacceptable. The room was very musty smelling like an old basement and seemed damp and stuffy. We immediately got switched to a different room, of course for a $50.00 upcharge. The pool is nice although a little cold. The evening bartenders also seemed to be professional and friendly. The workout area is very small and basic with a well used treadmill, elliptical, recumbent bike and some weights....be sure to bring your own sweat towel. As far as the breakfast, despite the inviting menu and nice service, the food really is average at best. Entrees lacked flavor, seemed a bit dry, and just very basic. It really could be much better with a little effort. Overall, the hotel presents a nice setting but seems in need of serious updating.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room in the main building or you will be very disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kroneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a nice older hotel in a very pretty area. Rooms are very comfortable,especially beds.Clean place with very friendly,accomadating staff. Food at Tap Room was excellent.Coulde use some updating of furniture.Pool was beautiful set among big hill with huge fir trees.Very relaxinf. Could use more clrful ,updated pool furniture.

Room Tip: We had a room with large a Maple tree outside window and this was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in! The website is very misleading, our room was dirty, smelled musty, and the front desk attendant was extremely rude. On the bright side the pool is very nice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mike,

It is very disappointing to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us in Avon. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

If you have the chance, please give me a call to discuss the issues more in detail. I can be reached at the hotel at 860-677-1651 or 800-836-4000. Thank you for sharing your experience and I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,
Jeffrey HB.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Comfortable, tastefully decorated hotel rooms that assist for getting a restful night's sleep. The staff members at all levels were very helpful, hospitable, and professional. Excellent transportation staff who went above and beyond expectations, especially during a very busy wedding season! I cannot thank them enough! The hotel restaurant served reasonably priced, beautifully presented, delicious meals served by friendly wait staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOODSTOCK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was large any clean. Their were beautiful winding staircases and lots of sitting areas to take a break outside of the room. They served fresh Danishes and breads with coffee in the lobby for breakfast. We will definitely be staying there again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Very nicely decorated rooms that have a colonial feel. Comfortable beds with comforters and nice homey touches throughout the room. The pool is set beautifully in the woods, clean, and relaxing. However they over did it with the scent sticks in the reception area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
3.3 mi away
The Simsbury Inn
The Simsbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Simsbury
195 reviews
5.4 mi away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#4 of 6 in Farmington
252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
8.1 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Old Farms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Old Farms Hotel

Property: Avon Old Farms Hotel
Address: 279 Avon Mountain Road, Avon, CT 06001-3942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avon Old Farms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Avon Old Farms Hotel - a luxury hotel in the suburbs of Greater Hartford, CT in the picturesque Farmington River Valley. In fact, Yankee Magazine has rated us a "Best of the Best" lodging property. The Avon Old Farms Hotel has also received a Mobil Three-Star Award and AAA Three Diamond Award.Our hotel began as a 24-unit motel in 1955 and through two expansions has grown into a 160-room luxury hotel in Avon, Connecticut resting on 20 acres of manicured landscape with all of the services and amenities desired by the modern corporate and leisure guest. As a guest of the Avon Old Farms Hotel, you can expect a distinctive ambiance representing luxury and charm including fine furnishings, down featherbeds, four-poster beds, antiques, and original watercolor paintings of the historic area in which we reside. Our classic approach to service means that guests will be pampered and appreciate our innovative attention to detail and willingness to accommodate. Additionally, our unique facilities - including the handsome, state-of-the-art conference facilities, stunning banquet space, and lush outdoor garden areas - make us a leading choice for meetings, corporate events, weddings, and social affairs in the Greater Hartford area.Guests of the Avon Old Farms Hotel enjoy the award-winning and stunning Seasons Restaurant and Tap Room serving inspired innovative American cuisine.We look forward to welcoming you to our luxurious country hotel in Avon, Connecticut just 10 minutes from downtown Hartford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avon Old Farms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ct Hotel Avon Old Farms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing