We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money Pit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avon Old Farms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Money Pit”
Reviewed 12 July 2006

Have always wanted to stay at the Avon Old Farms Hotel since driving by it on my way to work for several years. When the opportunity to visit Connecticut for the weekend came up, I decided to splurge and stay one night at Avon Old Farms. What a disappointment. My room was miles from the front desk. It was very dirty - carpet, upholstery, etc. Really gross. There was a wedding downstairs right underneath me. They proceeded to vacuum the room at about 3:00am. When I called to complain, the front desk said they "would be done shortly". No apologies. It was all really annoying. And when I checked out the rate charged was not the rate quoted (directly from the hotel!) Fortunately, I had an e-mail with me to prove it. Don't bother staying here. It's not worth it!! P.S. I also wrote the hotel after my visit to complain and never even received an acknowledgement. Pooey on them.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank Philly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    118
    60
    27
    21
See reviews for
96
78
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2006

This hotel really was a surprise. It's in a lovely New England community and the hotel is easy to find. The rooms are quite large and very quiet. Lots of nice touches, including a very comfortable four-poster bed and a large selection of pillows so that you can choose the one that's right for you. My favorite was breakfast in the dining room where I was able to quietly read my paper, look out into the deep woods, and listen to Mozart. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room rate was surprisingly affordable as I normally pay twice their rate for equivalent accomodations. I definitely recommend this as the place to stay in the area. Then be sure to visit the Hill-Stead museum in Farmington where they have four Monets (two haystacks!), and works by Degas, Manet, Whistler, Carriere, and Mary Cassat. Extraordinary collection.
Great stay all around. My compliments to the hotel management and staff.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tk1559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 May 2006

wow, surprised by some negative reviews

the avon was great, the staff pleasant and courteous (almost overly so... being addressed as sir for a few weeks grows a little tiresome after you've had a number of conversations with the person addressing you)

the drivers for the shuttle service were helpful and pleasant, and took exceptional care of me; booking taxis when they were unavailable, stowing items for later pickup, etc.

the food in the restaurant was good (except for the sandwiches they make for late-checkins). that is, i enjoyed the food, but there was certainly no iron chef competitor in the ktichen. fairly standard, and done well for what it was. again, the service in both the pub and the restaurant was pleasant and courteous

the room was comfortable and clean-- although i do share the complaint about the heater, it was loud, and difficult to control (but did provide more than simple hot/cold functionality)

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2006

The hotel is actually 2 separate buildings. Rooms in one building have exterior entrance doors. We had one of these rooms. Openning the door in December delivers a blast of cold Connecticut air. Rooms were large, had fluffy bed comforters and fluffy mattress covers. The "continental breakfast" is spartan: coffee, tea, hot cocoa, small muffins. Nothing else. No milk, no orange juice, no fruit, etc. Free Wi-Fi worked fine. Also the lobby has 2 nice PC's that were connected to the internet. Guests can select their free newspaper: the local Hartford one, NY Times, Boston Globe, and USA Today.

Despite my mediocre feelings of this place, I'd probably stay there again because it's the best price/quality deal in this expensive area. There's not many hotels. There's a new Marriott Residence Inn, but all the others are private non-chain ones and cost almost $150-200/night. Another review said they never saw a bellman. I never saw a bellman either.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bogistcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2005

My husband, 16 month old daughter and I checked into the Avon Old Farms Hotel for a 2 night stay last week. It's not really our kind of place, as we prefer large, modern hotels (we had just come from two nights at the Four Seasons New York), but we knew that going in so we felt prepared. Check-in went fine, and we drove to the building where our room was located. The rooms are located in at least two different buildings, some of them with doors to the outside like a motel. There is no bellman to help with your luggage, and no valet.

The room was alright - about what we expected - older, musty smelling, but seemed to be pretty clean and was a decent size. The bathroom was not luxurious by any stretch but was reasonably clean as far as I could tell. For some inexplicable reason, the heater was on "cool" and it was about 50 degrees in the room. The heater is an individual unit near the window that blows air out pretty forcefully. It is very loud and can be set only to hot or cold, not to a specific temperature.

When I booked our stay (2 months in advance), I specifically asked whether they would have a crib available for my daughter and was assured they would. When I called to confirm the reservation several days in advance, I was again assured that they would have a crib. When we got there, there was an old, stained/dirty pack 'n play folded up in the room. No sheet, no blanket, nothing. My husband called the front desk and they said no, they didn't have sheets for the pack 'n play. First off, I had specifically asked for a crib, NOT a pack 'n play. As it turns out, no hotel in the area (at least none that I called) have actual cribs, but it would have been nice to know that beforehand, as my daughter hates sleeping in pack 'n plays. What really bothered me, though, was that they expected my one year old to sleep on a BARE mattress, with not even a sheet! And when asked, they acted as if it was such a bizarre request, that I should want something between my daughter's face and some other baby's drool, spit up and who knows what else. Their best offer was to use a king sized sheet folded up and a bath towel for a blanket. We checked out. And when we returned the key, the front desk clerk informed us that actually, we were wrong, that the pack 'n play IS actually a crib. Huh?

Bottom line, if you don't have a baby, this hotel is OK, but no better than that. If you do have a baby, try the Marriott in Farmington. It's not exactly five star quality, but they upgraded us to a suite, set up the pack n play for us (along with a sheet and blanket!!) and otherwise had excellent and fast service, without the attitude.

Helpful?
1 Thank mrswh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 January 2004

I would highly recommend this quaint little place in Avon. The room was very clean and very spacious. In the Inn, there was a workout room as well as a restaurant and pub. I didn't try the food, so can't comment on that. But, the people were very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
3.3 mi away
The Simsbury Inn
The Simsbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Simsbury
190 reviews
5.4 mi away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#3 of 7 in Farmington
248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
8.1 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Hartford Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Old Farms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Old Farms Hotel

Property: Avon Old Farms Hotel
Address: 279 Avon Mountain Road, Avon, CT 06001-3942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avon Old Farms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Avon Old Farms Hotel - a luxury hotel in the suburbs of Greater Hartford, CT in the picturesque Farmington River Valley. In fact, Yankee Magazine has rated us a "Best of the Best" lodging property. The Avon Old Farms Hotel has also received a Mobil Three-Star Award and AAA Three Diamond Award.Our hotel began as a 24-unit motel in 1955 and through two expansions has grown into a 160-room luxury hotel in Avon, Connecticut resting on 20 acres of manicured landscape with all of the services and amenities desired by the modern corporate and leisure guest. As a guest of the Avon Old Farms Hotel, you can expect a distinctive ambiance representing luxury and charm including fine furnishings, down featherbeds, four-poster beds, antiques, and original watercolor paintings of the historic area in which we reside. Our classic approach to service means that guests will be pampered and appreciate our innovative attention to detail and willingness to accommodate. Additionally, our unique facilities - including the handsome, state-of-the-art conference facilities, stunning banquet space, and lush outdoor garden areas - make us a leading choice for meetings, corporate events, weddings, and social affairs in the Greater Hartford area.Guests of the Avon Old Farms Hotel enjoy the award-winning and stunning Seasons Restaurant and Tap Room serving inspired innovative American cuisine.We look forward to welcoming you to our luxurious country hotel in Avon, Connecticut just 10 minutes from downtown Hartford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Avon Old Farms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ct Hotel Avon Old Farms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing