We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful soup!”

First & Last Tavern
Ranked #11 of 63 Restaurants in Avon
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful soup!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My cousin and I meet every couple months here for a long visit. We go at lunchtime. Servers are attentive but let us have our 'space'. We always split an antipasto and then have soup, a side of meatballs or a sandwich. I often get a bowl of soup and am never disappointed. Today I had cream of mushroom -- wipe out your mentall image of canned mushroom soup -- this was so, so tasty -- delicious -- mushrooms, seasoning and a lovely broth. I'll have visions of this soup in my dreams :-).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykat039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    49
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
110 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Letter Grade Would Be a B or B Minus”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The reason for an average letter grade is because it is an average restaurant. Yes, the alfresco dining was pleasant. The menu is the tried and traditional dishes that make up the offerings of "Italian style" restaurants. The pasta in the Carbonara was cooked beyond the "aldente" stage and the sauce was heavily laden with what tasted like a cream and cheese mixture. A bit excessive for my taste. The pizza crust lacked a flavorful crispness. And, the tiramisu left a bit to be desired. It seemed to be layered with a thick whipped cream, not mascarpone and the "lady fingers" were barely soaked and as a result were rather dry. All of this made for a bland flavor.

Service was a bit spotty and in fact we had to wait to drink our wine until they could get some wine glasses washed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viaggiatori1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It is a small chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

It can get crowded on Friday and Saturday nights, but there is overflow parking within easy walking distance.

It is a pizza place, with good pizza. I enjoy their burgers, which they offer without buns for those of us on diets. This is a rare pizza place who can actually cook a medium rare burger (you have no idea how rare that is).

The desserts are large and fun. I often go for the carrot cake.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HPLowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Consistently very good food.Just like First and Last in Hartford.Love the eggplant there,fresh and tasty

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unexpected greatness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Service was quick and friendly, and the food was great. Great selection of Italian inspired cuisine. Great pizzas available in a few different sizes. I ordered the sweet pea pizza topped with peas; it was great. Pasta is homemade and fresh. Decent and reasonably priced wine and drink list.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_CAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First & Last Tavern also viewed

 

Been to First & Last Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing