We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great find! Authentic Italian!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Pizza Plus

New York Pizza Plus
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Alachua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://yellowpages.superpages.com/listings.jsp?CS=L&MCBP=true&search=Find+It&SRC=&C=new+york+pizza&STYPE=S&L=32615&x=0&y=0
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a great find! Authentic Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here after reading the reviews on Trip advisor. We were not disappointed. The lunch buffet was incredible. There were so many wonderful things to try. We loved the fruit salad. I think it had a cinnamon and honey sauce. Yum! All of the pasta dishes were terrific. We live about 2 1/2 hours away and will plan a special return trip soon.

Helpful?
Thank MWyatt42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    23
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lot of delicious food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Family stopped into this strip mall eatery to find an almost hidden gem! Buffet during the weekdays offers a wonderful variety of salads, pizzas, main course dishes, and desserts. All is hot, fresh and closely monitored to replenish as needed. Everything is wonderfully prepared and appetizing. The meat balls are the absolute best! Pizzas taste delicious and are of plentiful variety. Simply great food and a family of three ate a large meal for around $20.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abundantpleasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Their food makes you think you're eating in Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I know of no other Italian restaurants that grows their own olives. That alone is a signal that the owners of this fine restaurant care about the quality of the ingredients that go into what they serve.
I live in an restaurant saturated area where there are many restaurants that serve Italian cuisine but none of them come close to always being as busy as this one – for good reason. Formost is their menu selection; not only standard Americanized Italian offerings but because the owners are Italian, they also have a wide selection of their family's heirloom recipes you would be hard to find anywhere else.
Although you won't find linen tablecloths and napkins and an ambiance some Italian restaurants use to make you think you're in Italy O Sole Mio's focus is the passion they put into their food, which once you take your first bite makes you'll forget the lack of any fluff. They just changed their name from New York Pizza to O Sole Mio but the sign over the entrance may still have to old name.
For years, my family as well as my friends have eaten here at least two to three times per month simply because they leave nothing to be desired. During all these visits what ever new menu item we've ordered has always exceeded our expectations.
Their prices are very reasonable considering the quality of their authentic, fresh ingredients. Serving time from order to table is more than acceptable considering everything (except slices of pizza) are cooked to order. They have an extensive menu with all price points and a wine list to match. Their waiters and visible cook staff are some of the friendliest and knowledgeable you could hope for.
If you can't make it for supper, be sure to go there for lunch where the same dinner menu is available to you but, let me suggest you instead try their scrumptious, reasonably priced, well known, complete buffet lunch that you'll be telling all your friends about – because it it that GOOD . . . mmnnnn.
I've never met anyone who has eaten there ever complain about anything. That's why when 5 stars are suppossed to be the best, I give Ol Sole Mio seven stars!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alachua
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic PIZZA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We all LOVE their pizza. Always fresh ingredients, friendly staff and a good selection of wine and beer. Home made deserts are yummy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
244 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Acceptable but not quite New York”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The pizza is okay. Better than from a chain restaurant but it's not New York pizza. I'll stick with the calzone from now on. It was good but not enough sauce served with it. Service can be spotty. We're usually there around closing so they are busy cleaning and closing things up but we've never been the only ones in the restaurant at that time. They either need to make sure service continues or extend their hours.

Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New York Pizza Plus also viewed

 

Been to New York Pizza Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing