We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Mi Apa Latin Cafe

Mi Apa Latin Cafe
Ranked #2 of 43 Restaurants in Alachua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Starke, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

There sandwiches are the BEST. Pastries are good too, even though you eat on paper plates who cares it's inexpensive and great food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alachua, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent caribbean ethnic food”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If you're craving for excellent tasting Latin food you will not leave disappointed. The yellow rice and black beans are authentic tasty delicious; the way Caribbean food taste in the homeland. Food quality is very good and quantity is plenty to get full and take leftovers home. The flan dessert is delicious and such a comfort sweet treat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitzi929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alachua, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food but they ocassionally lose focus”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I love carribean/latin food and the food here is great. The menu offers quite a few appealing entrees and they have a nice selection of sides. We try different ones with each visit and have enjoyed them all. Particular favorites are the fried cassava and the black beans. The service is always good. The only downside is that the food is occasionally a touch on the cold side and once we had bits of plastic in our fruit juice (they carry a dozen or so different juices), like someone accidentally dropped a bit of packaging into the blender. Overall though the positive experiences far out weight the negative ones and we are elated to have them nearby.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious and authentic Latin cuisine”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I was very excited when they put this restaurant in Alachua. There is one in Gainesville (just as good) and I love it. The food is great. If you love good Latin food, you will love this place. Their arepas are delicious, their soups are terrific, and I have yet to have a meal there that I disliked. My wife loves the ropa vieja. Their roast pork is great as well. I would highly recommend this place to everyone. You should at least try it. I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank donsanchez23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springboro, OH
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Driving by and looking for a place to eat. Stopped for Moe's but up close it lost any appeal. Mi Apa is just across the parking lane but turned out to be the kind of place I'm looking forward to visiting again. The food was very good, the flan was excellent. Truly outstanding. The black beans were also surprisingly flavorful. And the service was both efficient and cheerful. I would prefer to eat on plates and flatware that was recycled, but I'll go back even if it means eating off per-landfill plastic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dvomacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mi Apa Latin Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mi Apa Latin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing