We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible and relaxing experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alachua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ayurveda Health Retreat
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An incredible and relaxing experience”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Richard's retreat is just what I needed for an escape from my routine!! The food was impeccable! I learned so much at the Saturday evening cooking class and cannot wait to try out all of the new recipes I brought home with me (he has cookbooks available for his guests). The Panchakarma treatment surpassed all expectations...it's the best massage of your life x 100. I am just sad that I couldn't stay for a 5 full days to complete the full detox. The staff (and Richard, obviously) really made all of us guests feel like we were home. Daily yoga and meditation classes coupled with authentically warm people and in a serene location...I felt refreshed and reconnected with myself by the end of the weekend. I hope to make this retreat an annual tradition for me and my close friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank apaigefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
6
63
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Great food, excellent service, wonderful location! Enjoyed the ayurvedic massages, frequent yoga sessions, walks in the woods, and the serene environment, all of which enabled us to reflect and relax and a little bit. We came home with a lot of new ideas for vegetarian cuisine that we can use at home, and we definitely plan on returning!

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark6686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Richard's retreat is an oasis of healing, warmth, love and understanding. The treatments are rejuvenating physically, emotionally and spiritually, and the out-of-this world, healthful vegetarian food is delicious and comforting. It's such a pleasure to be soothed by Richard's knowledge of ayurveda, magnetic charm, warmth, kindness and genuine care for the guests. Every time I visited, I left with a feeling of spiritual and emotional peace and happiness. I love this amazing place and the welcoming, caring staff. It's impossible not to want to keep coming back. Thankfully, the affordable rates make frequent trips a reality.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I found the retreat to be a home away from home. It was very warm and inviting, clean and well kept. Mr Masla and his staff were very warm loving and friendly. I have nothing but gratitude and love for each and everyone I encountered at the retreat.

It was quiet a life changing experience being at the retreat, I had the Panchakarma treatment which was fantastic and I recommend this treatment to everyone who visits the retreat.

When I booked my trip I did not know what to expect. My reservation was for 5 days, I stayed for 7 days left for 3 days and went back for a couple more days. It was exactly where I needed to be and Richard and his staff exceeded my expectation.

I would and have recommended The Ayurveda Health Retreat to my family and friends. I can't wait to visit again.

Allison Mohammed - Trinidad and Tobago.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEMohammed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I went to the retreat because I wanted to detox. I got so much more out of my 5 days there than I expected - an emotional detox. The experience caused to me go within and do some critical thinking and reflection. It left me feeling calmer, relaxed, revitalized, peaceful, and mindful. I arrived home with a deeper sense of clarity and new friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joceline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2011

When booking my "retreat" with my girlfriend, we knew we needed some down time to refresh and regroup but we were not 100% sure what to expect. Well our expectations were exceeded!! Everyone at the retreat was truly a joy to meet and work with and we were floating on air after our 5 days there. (Do 5 days if you can - it's the best.) The classes, sessions and every activity (and we did all of them pretty much) we took part in were well worth the time and very rewarding. Just can't say enough about how wonderful this experience is for one's self. We will be back - it is an annual event now on our calendars!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The retreat was as always wonderful. This was my third time here and I can't wait to come back soon. But next time I want to stay longer, maybe a whole week. I can say that Richard's retreat touches the heart and souls of people! It is a true gem.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berliner1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alachua
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Alachua
196 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
826 reviews
14.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
581 reviews
24.6 mi away
Super 8 Lake City
Super 8 Lake City
#7 of 24 in Lake City
640 reviews
13.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayurveda Health Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayurveda Health Retreat

Property: Ayurveda Health Retreat
Address: 14616 NW 140th St, Alachua, FL 32615
Region: United States > Florida > Alachua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Alachua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are open 7 days a week; you may reserve your personal Retreat at any time. You can come for a Traditional Panchakarma Retreat for up to 2 or 3 weeks, or come for a shorter R&R or Wellness Retreat. We are here to facilitate your journey to health and happiness through the sublime teachings of Yoga and Ayurveda. The Ayurveda Education Week offers an opportuntiy to immerse yourself in Yoga and Ayurveda in a nurturing enviroment. The Ayurveda Health Retreat (AHR) is one of the premier Retreats in Florida that offer traditional Ayurvedic medicine and Panchakarma treatments. The AHR was established by Richard A. Masla, Ayurvedic Practitioner, in 2001 and is located in the small historic town of Alachua, in north central Florida. The Retreat initially had only one treatment room and an office space. From these humble beginnings, it now encompasses three buildings: a beautiful yoga studio, a retreat center and a yoga ashram. Annually we serve hundreds of guests who visit us from all over the world. We are a group of dedicated health professionals who have created an authentic Ayurvedic retreat offering traditional Kerala Ayurvedic therapies. We have 3 Ayurvedic Practitioners, a psychologist, massage therapists, Reiki healers, and yoga & meditation teachers. Richard Masla, our Ayurvedic Practitioner, studied traditional Ayurveda under Dr. Vasant Lad, Dr. Pankaj Naram and Dr. Syama. Richard has mastered the ancient art of Kerala Ayurvedic Panchakarma and has trained all the massage therapists. We're here to accommodate you, whether you need a weekend refresher or a full 21-day retreat. We look forward to being of service! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ayurveda Health Retreat Hotel Alachua
Ayurveda Health Retreat Florida/Alachua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing