We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we were hoping for.”

Ginny's and Jane E's Cafe and Coastal Store
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: We are located in the Historic City of Anna Maria, a quaint "Old Florida" area on the north end of Anna Maria Island. Our store is a unique collection of local art and antiquities.We also provide beach supplies, like suntan lotion, sunglasses, flip flops and other items to help you have fun and stay comfortable while at the beach. At Ginny's & Jane E's you will hear the sound of people enjoying a meal together with their friends and neighbors. Our cafe offers you a great breakfast and lunch menu. We also have inhouse fresh baked desserts. Perhaps you want a break from the sun and cool down with a cold beer or a cold fruit smoothie. Our unique setting offers quiet corners or big family tables. Hope to see you soon.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what we were hoping for.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was our 2nd trip to Anna Maria this year and we were wanting to venture out from our usual spots for breakfast. So we came on trip advisor and saw the great reviews and decided to try it. The store was very cool with lots of knick knacks. My fiance got the cream brulee french toast and it was very, very good. I got a traditional Bacon, egg & cheese sandwhich. Hard to mess up right? Well, I was not thrilled. It just wasn't good. The staff was very nice though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachRN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul and Tammy F, Owner at Ginny's and Jane E's Cafe and Coastal Store, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking time out and reviewing Ginny's and Jane E's. I was happy to read your husband enjoyed our Crème Brule French toast. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your egg sandwich. That is at the top of one of our customers favorite choices, with many folks returning daily for one. You did not specifically tell what you did not enjoy, so I cannot comment on it. I can tell you, we crack a fresh egg, we beat it and we cook them like a mini omelette. We fold the shredded cheddar into the egg to melt. Then we put the meat up on top of it. It is a slower process, but our customers like it. I am sorry you did not. I hope to see you again, and try something different. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    287
    74
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such an awesome place, funky and unexpected!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

What an unexpected pleasure. Coffee for the coffee lovers, decadent breakfast goodies and other food items, library for the book readers, internet area, such a great store to browse all the different items plus an ice cream area. This is one great place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gramma32162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Eclectic and Cool!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Unique little "junque shop" and bistro in one. Very cool to see. Food was good and portions were plentiful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quaint, fun, funky and Delicious!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Ginny and Jane E's is a spot I could visit every day. I love the decor in the seating area-a total hodge podge of table and chair types in a quaint easy feel atmosphere.

We had a couple of breakfasts and then snack time on our recent two week stay on Anna Maria. Service is excellent, atmosphere is excellent! The shop area is fun-not your typical souvenir shop- they do have t-shirts, sunglasses etc. but not the run of the mill type. Lots of beach and Florida decor as well as photos, prints, used books and more.

The blueberry waffle I had was so loaded with blueberries it was almost purple! Breakfast sandwiches, cinnamon rolls and sticky buns were also enjoyed. The sticky bun reminded me of the kind my mom used to make-loaded with pecans! Coffee was great. Several flavoring options are available and there is a self-pay spot if you just want a cup of coffee fast. Smoothies and Chai freezes were also enjoyed. Would like to have made it in for lunch as the offerings looked wonderful.

This spot is a must do on a visit to the island and make plans to go more than once!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeweltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Customer service....great food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had lunch here based on the reviews of others on trip advisor. Everyone was very friendly and seemed pleased to interact and make suggestions. Staff seemed happy and conversational .....we loved the tomato basil soup, the chicken salad and tuna salad.......absolutely fresh and the decor was charming. We are so glad that we found this early during our vacation on AMI. We will be back......don't miss this.......

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ginny's and Jane E's Cafe and Coastal Store also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Ginny's and Jane E's Cafe and Coastal Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing