We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh & Delicious!”
Review of Poppo's Taqueria

Poppo's Taqueria
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh & Delicious!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Casual island atmosphere. Very clean. The tacos are amazing! Stuffed with your choice of pulled chicken, beef or pork and your choice of fresh veggies! Chips are made to order. Quacomole is delish! 2 of us had lunch for less than $15. Eat on the porch or take it down to the pier & enjoy the beautiful scenery!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelAmerica247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    136
    37
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious Mexican”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stopped in for a quesadilla and chips. We were very pleased with the quality of food at this quick service restaurant. There are a few seats, but I imagine it gets very crowded during peak times. Service was friendly and the food was delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbuff_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fresh Goodness to Go”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The first time I went into Poppo's I was somewhat surprised. This has a nice location and looks from outside like it is a nice traditional sit-down restaurant. What is inside are a few tables and chairs and a bar which is not used because it has boxes stored behind it. What I also found inside Poppo's was delicious organic and local food, wonderfully prepared in large portions! Now I stop by Poppo's at least once every time I am on the island. I love the grass-fed beef or the free-range chicken burritos. Add rice and beans and you have a great meal. Don't forget to get gaucamole, salsa, and fresh chips! Oh yeah, top off your meal with a cold Mexican beer or Mexican Coke.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WVDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WINTER PARK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect place for lunch during a day of shopping.”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were so pleasantly surprised by Poppo's! I asked them what their specialty is and they made me the best taco I have ever had! Pork, slaw, feta, pico and some sort of green hot sauce. They also made us some fresh chips and guacamole. Keep up the great work!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbysbeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I am on the island now and have eaten here twice. The classic taco is so good and really authentic. We also tried the rice bowl and it was great!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank littlefeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppo's Taqueria also viewed

 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Poppo's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing