We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandbar Restaurant

Sandbar Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Sandbar Restaurant, located on the north end of Anna Maria Island, has for decades been a favorite for locals. Dine with your toes in the sand and a drink in your hand on our waterfront deck or enjoy our inside dining room. We offer gulf to table, farm to fork, and pasture to plate sustainable menu items. Our menus reflect our commitment to serving our guests the best in local and sustainable seafood, produce, and land fare. The Sandbar is the most popular place on Anna Maria Island for beach weddings and sunset receptions. The award winning venue is perfect for intimate gatherings to elaborate affairs, especially weddings.
Bristol England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great food and atmosphere. Only drawback is it is very busy and you can't book. You can buy drinks at the bar and watch the sun go down on the beach. Well worth the wait!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise_Lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,482
    1,048
    550
    195
    109
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver. CO
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun place; Food mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a very popular spot on the island, mainly because of the outdoor patio on the beach. The food was mediocre at best. I would recommend for cocktails, but go elsewhere for your meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jWorld Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Pine, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We visited the Sandbar based on the positive reviews and we weren't disappointed. The food was very good and the server was very attentive to us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gosouth56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great setting, food ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting, menu looked promising, but didn't quite deliver. Island salad was delicious, but Caesar salad was swimming in dressing. Smoked salmon appetizer was a hit with my spouse, but not with me due to the density of the potato roll and flavor of salmon (love a great smoked salmon). Amberjack with shrimp and scallops in lemon butter cream sauce was salty and not as flavorful as expected. Crab crusted scallops was delicious, but, again, overly salty. Based on the menu, we would give it another try, but try different items.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank alltravellvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

It was our last night on vacation and we wanted to dine on the sand. The view was amazing while having dinner on the beach with your toes in the sand. The food that we had was okay but nothing outstanding. We had a burger, chicken sandwich, and an artichoke/cheese dip. The burger was tasty but the chicken sandwich was tasteless and dry even after it was supposed to have been marinated in Hawaiian spices. The dip was okay but would have been better with tortilla chips to dip instead of chunks of bread since it already came in a bread bowl. All in all the experience was okay and we would probably go back and try something else.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank luv2trav777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandbar Restaurant also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Sandbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing