We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMIs symbol”
Review of Sandbar Restaurant

Sandbar Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Sandbar Restaurant, located on the north end of Anna Maria Island, has for decades been a favorite for locals. Dine with your toes in the sand and a drink in your hand on our waterfront deck or enjoy our inside dining room. We offer gulf to table, farm to fork, and pasture to plate sustainable menu items. Our menus reflect our commitment to serving our guests the best in local and sustainable seafood, produce, and land fare. The Sandbar is the most popular place on Anna Maria Island for beach weddings and sunset receptions. The award winning venue is perfect for intimate gatherings to elaborate affairs, especially weddings.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMIs symbol”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

If you see pictures for AMI there is usually a shot of The Sandbar beach shot. It's one of the reasons we first wanted to actually stay on the island. One of the best places to watch the sunset. We love sitting inside at the bar at lunch. It's a great bustling place, always someone to chat with and they serve the whole lunch menu at the bar. We have seen some changes over the last few years, all good. Much improved. The menu seems much the same and we like that. The restaurant is lovely but we prefer to sit at the bar or outside. Staff always helpful and service is great. They will also make any cocktail you ask for, or certainly try to. A definite must to visit. Prices on a par with the rest of the island.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,635
    1,117
    589
    207
    115
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice View”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I had a late lunch at the Sandbar, and sat at a table that was actually on the beach. The food is good, and is reasonably priced considering the location. The place is packed most of the time, so be prepared to arrive early or wait for a table. We enjoyed it, but not as much as other places on the island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UncleCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Stunning location and decent food. ”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The most beautiful of strings, right on the white sands of Anna Maria. Very popular and thus very busy - walk ins will wait a long time at peak periods. Mid week lunch seemed to work ok. The food was good but not exceptional, but worth it for the setting.

Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sandbar Restaurant”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Food is delicious. The view and atmosphere is totally beachy and fun. Great beach view. Customer service is great.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food on the Beach”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

There is nothing particularly exceptional about this restaurant, except where it is located. It sits directly on the beach with an outstanding view of the Gulf of Mexico. It's a great place to have dinner while watching the sunset on the water.
We ended up eating here twice during our weeklong visit, once for lunch and once for dinner. Our server on our second visit had a lot to deal with. A local celebrity was seated next to us and as a result there was a lot of people stopping by the table and getting in her way. She handled it with grace.
The food is very good here, though to me it didn't seem to be any better than other restaurants on the island. The main attraction here is the beach, the food is secondary.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Starky360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandbar Restaurant also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Sandbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing