We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old favourite”
Review of Sandbar Restaurant

Sandbar Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Sandbar Restaurant, located on the north end of Anna Maria Island, has for decades been a favorite for locals. Dine with your toes in the sand and a drink in your hand on our waterfront deck or enjoy our inside dining room. We offer gulf to table, farm to fork, and pasture to plate sustainable menu items. Our menus reflect our commitment to serving our guests the best in local and sustainable seafood, produce, and land fare. The Sandbar is the most popular place on Anna Maria Island for beach weddings and sunset receptions. The award winning venue is perfect for intimate gatherings to elaborate affairs, especially weddings.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old favourite”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our4th family trip to Anna Maria Island wouldn't be the same without a visit to the Sandbar. Luckily we were staying across the road, but we would happily travel further to eat here. We enjoyed it so much, we had a return visit in the same week. Atmosphere is always good and the seafood in particular was excellent. Our only slight misgiving was that the restaurant seems more geared up for adults and the children were a little left out or an afterthought. Still, we will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AK47-GSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,636
    1,117
    589
    207
    115
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lovely setting right on the beach. Ate here on 4th July and had a beachside table to watch the fireworks. Our server, Patrick, could not have been more attentive and we had a great night. In the bar Jen is brilliant and makes the best Rum Runners. Very busy, so get there early.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“First vacation stop”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Will first stop on our vacation. Front desk at our hotel recommend this restaurant for lunch. Being that it was hot we decided to sit inside. We walked in and the place was busy. Our waiter could not help us choose an appetizer. We decided on the fish dip spread the dip had chunks of fish in it. After a while Our dip did became too fishy tasting. Being it was busy outside our waiter was not around to ask us for a drink refill. The fish skin chips were also not it all good. Our waiter never returned for us to let him know. We got another waiter to bring as our bill and we left this restaurant very disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Family favorite!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Always a family destination when we visit Anna Maria! Consistently great! Wonderful place for the whole family, go early, they do. to take reservations!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great, enjoyed it!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Great food, great service, great views! Everyone in our party of four enjoyed their food and the views are great! Would definitely go back!

Helpful?
Thank Azdmelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandbar Restaurant also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Sandbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing