We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The sunset was amazing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandbar Restaurant

Sandbar Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Sandbar Restaurant, located on the north end of Anna Maria Island, has for decades been a favorite for locals. Dine with your toes in the sand and a drink in your hand on our waterfront deck or enjoy our inside dining room. We offer gulf to table, farm to fork, and pasture to plate sustainable menu items. Our menus reflect our commitment to serving our guests the best in local and sustainable seafood, produce, and land fare. The Sandbar is the most popular place on Anna Maria Island for beach weddings and sunset receptions. The award winning venue is perfect for intimate gatherings to elaborate affairs, especially weddings.
Saint James City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The sunset was amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Food was good and fresh tasting. The waiter was pleasant. The location is an amazing place for sunset!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,429
    1,026
    540
    187
    105
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
405 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“atmosphere excellent food average and pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great outdoor dining with some tables in the sand. Love being able to take off shoes and wiggle toes in the sand. Crowded with tourists but you can walk the beach while waiting. Food is average and fish surprisingly poor. Service is good but bring your gold card.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food is good but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I am not a "trendy-foodie", but I enjoy good food when I can. My family and some special friends visited this restaurant. The atmosphere was great - as was the view of the sea and white sand – but it was crowded and parking a challenge. The food is good but pricey - you pay for the view and atmosphere. I feel it is close to becoming an overpriced tourist trap.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TigerInGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“"Get there early..."”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

For as popular as this restaurant is, reservations are not accepted. We were told that the wait could be an hour or longer on a Friday evening. We arrived around 5:15p and were seated promptly. Shortly thereafter, there was a long wait in a very small and congested waiting space.

We enjoyed the calamari and conch fritters for appetizers. Very tasty!
The grouper sandwich came highly recommended. It was average in taste and not necessarily something that would have to be ordered again. Service was great!

A "beach" atmosphere with the option to sit outside or inside. However, in the summer FL heat, inside is the way to go. If you are into "local favorites" for dining while on vacation, you should at least try the Sandbar at some time during the day.



Helpful?
Thank heelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tired of tourists.....customer service not a priority”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stopped here on an early Sat evening. There was an older gentleman with blondish hair that was working to seat a larger group of young people. They had gone outside to eat and changed their mind when it started sprinkling. He made a comment to a staff member regarding the difficulty the group was having making up their mind. This automatically put me off.....he may have the privilege of living in this beautiful place but there are tourists who want to make the most of their vacation. I am glad for Trip advisor that is making reviews available for others visiting the island. The food was mediocre but more importantly many of the staff members didn't seem happy. Some did but etched in my mind was the rude comment he made at the beginning. If I owned a restaurant here I would consider it a privilege to serve and make tourists feel welcome.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandbar Restaurant also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Sandbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing