We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was OK but service was terrible!!”

City Pier Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Food was OK but service was terrible!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I used to live on the island and visited the pier for over 30 years. Always loved the view and atmosphere but on my last visit it all came to an abrupt end. We decided to stop for an early dinner and order off of the discounted menu. The female server (with no personality) brought our drinks and then disappeared for over a half hour. She was seen visiting with her friends outside on the pier deck and watching people fish. By the time someone came out to get her, it was past the cutoff time to get the reduced meals and she said the computer wouldn't let her override it. She used the excuse that she had to get some things from the stock room. NOT! Please cross this place off of your to do list so it doesn't ruin a great day in AMI paradise like it did for us. I even emailed management and never heard back from anyone. Sorry never again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    346
    163
    43
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious x 2!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We visited the City Pier Restaurant twice during our recent stay on Anna Maria Island with two different family member groups. We called first to inquire as to the wait-we went during the week-not on a weekend evening. Our wait was no more than 10 minutes (when we called we were advised it would be about that long if we arrived prior to 7 PM).
We selected outside seating as it is, well, Florida on a pier! The breeze off the water kept us quite comfortable. Seafood Alfredo was hands down the best ever! Scrumptious shrimp, scallops and white fish in a delicious Alfredo sauce. I selected this dish on our first visit and recommended to our guests upon our second visit. Two took my advice and raved about their food.
My husband chose Crab Cakes on visit 2 and they were the most delicious crab cakes either of us had tasted! We also had guests who tried the Nutty Grouper. I liked the taste but it was I think "too nutty" flavored for the one who ordered. Hubby had Jerk seasoned shrimp and scallops on visit 1 and pronounced it excellent as well.
Visit 2 I chose the Greek Salad and it was also yummy.
Highly recommend this venue for both food and atmosphere. Great to spend the evening there. Anytime you can see dolphins playing the view is great in my opinion!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeweltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederikssund, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The atmosphere alone is worth a visit”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The City Peer alone is worth a visit. Almost 800 feet long this before-bridges connection to mainland Florida is a nice place with both a bar and a restaurant, water 350 degrees around.

The restaurant is fabulous. Tons of great seafood and some special, local entrees also. We had among other things the West Coast Steam seafood, so much King Crab that we had to leave something behind. Can't remember ever leaving crab behind.

Service is relaxed but absolutely ok. The food arrived a little late but that's ok, the place is fantastic.

Helpful?
1 Thank Morten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great seafood”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

After several visits to Anna Maria Island Pier we finally got to eat here. we both had the lunchtime specials, salmon and grouper tacos which were nice and spicy. The kitchen towel suspended above each table were a great idea and came in very handy! We had a window seat so a lovely view

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“florida pier dining”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

from our holiday rental in Bradenton beach Florida march 2014,we went with friends to the City Pier restaurant in Anna Maria .The pier stretches out 150 meters to the restaurant with seating inside and outside. this is a popular attraction with a constant flow of visitors .we were fortunate to get a table and prepared to wait as the view was spectacular with regular dolphin spotting .
we all had fish and chips and a beer and it was fine . we enjoyed our holiday so much we will return ASAP.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Pier Restaurant also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to City Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing