We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice for dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sign of The Mermaid

Sign of The Mermaid
Ranked #13 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Branford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We liked our meals here, although I found the menu to be a little heavy handed with cream sauces and cheese. Service was very good and the atmosphere was comfortable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2Entre-nous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    161
    73
    52
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best food on Anna Maria Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Sadly we didn't eat here until the last night of our stay as this was easily the best meal we had during our vacation on Anna Maria Island otherwise we would have been back straightaway!
This is a well run family restaurant with excellent service and everything we had to eat was great. We particularly liked the fact that portions were not so enormous that you could have an appetiser and entrée without feeling ridiculously full. There was plenty of choice to suit all seven of us and we would highly recommend it.
We had a slight disaster at the end of our meal when one of our party lent back on a window for a photo and managed to break a pane of glass. We were extremely embarrassed and offered to pay. The whole event was dealt with so pleasantly by the daughter of the owner who refused to accept our offer to pay for it and made us feel it could have happened to anyone.
We hope to return to Anna Maria Island and this will be where we have our first meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank devonfamilyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dinner at Sign of Mermaid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Delicious well prepared meal, starting with warm seasoned bread and ending with fantastic key lime pie. Problem was the noise level was so high that we were exhausted when we left! Wish that they would sound proof those small rooms to create a more comfortable environment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Excellent for Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

5 of us visited the Mermaid for breakfast and were delighted by the very warm welcome we received by ver pleasant happy staff.
The breakfast was excellent in every aspect, service, quality of food, portion, presentation and taste.
We were so pleased we went back the next day to do it all again!
Thank you Team Mermaid!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
156 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“This is seriously good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I would say this is the best restaurant in the area beating the Bistro by a long shot. It has interesting salads and appetizer choices, i.e. zucchini blossom salad. The shrimp and grits is the richest most tasty I have ever eaten and I eat a lot of fish and grits! The entree fish choices come in a light and hearty serving size which was a wonderful idea. The fresh snapper florentine was nothing short of fabulous as the fish had a lovely crust yet was moist and played off the rich spinach and cream. If you don't know about their desserts you may not save room which would be a huge mistake. They all looked terrific and our pie choices were all home made and delicious! The place itself is an old house with a bunch of little rooms with tables for two and four spread around. As a result the place has a friendly buzz but is not loud like so many crowded restaurants. The wait staff can be a bit casual but they are very attentive. I would choose this place for that special dinner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sign of The Mermaid also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Sign of The Mermaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing