We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bungalow Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Haleys Motel and Resort(Holmes Beach)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$601
US$436
Autograph
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mainsail Beach Inn(Holmes Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
372
113
41
33
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
372
113
41
33
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool housefire pitold floridawood floorsdirty towelsget awayprivate poolcovered porchromantic getawayfew stepsback porchlounge chairswatch the sunsetsmall kitchenocean viewthe cottagesgulf of mexico
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

While this property has way more charm and character than anything surrounding it, we just experienced too many issues to rate it any higher than average. The bungalow look and feel is very cool, and talk about being right on the beach....No elevators, no commercial look or feel and a very "island" look make it a unique place to stay. The beach lounges were awesome and guests have access to floats, toys, etc.

The staff was very friendly and nice.

At the same time, we were in two units in two nights and neither was clean in areas that counted (behind the sink, storage areas, base boards, etc.). This really turned us off. For the price they charge, every unit should be pristine.

My second issue was the lack of a wireless internet connection. While it would be nice to get away from work completely, this is not realistic. I needed a connection to get some work done and there was none. I ended up sitting in the tiny lobby for an hour. Again, for the price charged, the entire property should be wireless.

Several areas of the resort needed maintenance. Wood rot, paint and obvious areas that need some attention. Way too many we thought. It wasn't horrible, but it wasn't good either.

The TV was tiny and inadequate. If you are going to have one.....have a nice one. Same thing with the showers, a larger person would be hitting the walls they were so small.

Bring you own drinks and snacks. The units are well equipped in the kitchen areas, but you cannot get a soda, snack or anything at the resort.

Each unit was white....white paint, white linens and white furniture. While this is very nice, there were stains on the bed cover and couch. If you are going to feature white, it needs to be perfectly white.

We truly wanted to love this place, but unless the multiple issues are resolved I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: The unit on the beach (015) was right on the beach, but the unit we stayed in off the beach (106) was nicer.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CoasterWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

When I saw the pictures on the website, my first thought was how charming this resort is. When we arrived, we stayed in bungalow 115 with the "shabby chic" décor. I thought it was very quaint, a little expensive, but worth the money for 4 people. No it wasn't the cleanest unit, there was dust, the floor needed cleaning and the carpet should have been replaced a long time ago, but it was quaint and had character. Daily towel delivery service worked well, and the staff never bothered us. The staff was polite and very helpful. The one gem about this unit was the private swimming pool. It was great and it was cleaned three times during our weeks stay. I look forward to returning to Anna Maria Island next year with my grandchildren. Because it isn't very crowded during this time of year, I will likely be back next summer.

BBR, good job!

Room Tip: Pick bungalow 115, it has a private pool and sits off by itself.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Priceless setting with beach right outside the front door however, room 116 was extremely dusty, dirty and cheesy.Dust caked from the wood beams and cob webs too. The mattress sank in the middle and had to be very, very old. The drape panels did not completely cover the windows when closed. No housekeeping while we stayed. We left early. Just too dirty.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The BBR is a true treasure hidden on Bradenton Beach. Each bungalow is different from the rest with it's own character and charm. When arriving and leaving the staff is very helpful and welcoming. No phone in the room is a big plus. Cell phone service can be on and off, they can leave a message. We have stayed in 2 different bungalows now, and the next time we will pick another. We will try for 116, that may be everything we need. Gulf front view, full kitchen, and 2 steps to the beach. We first visited the BBR in June 2012. We decided to get married on the beach at the Bungalows. Our kids and a few family members joined us (17 total). Even though they don't have special accommodations for those events, they told us to feel free to have our wedding there. We took the free trolley afterwards to have a celebratory lunch. We returned this last weekend July 11-14 to celebrate our 1st anniversary. Our kids and grandkids joined us for a day of beach and water fun. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here this past weekend for a girl's getaway. It was mellow and relaxing ( but they had great recommendations for live music and a great night out when we felt like a bit more of a party scene). In addition, it was a great deal for a place steps from the beach (they even honored a AAA discount though we had forgotten whether we asked about it initially). We usually stay at larger places so we can enjoy that "catered to feeling" but the staff was friendly and helpful and we lacked for nothing.

The area was great. Low key. Relaxing. Perfect.

I would stay there again without reservation.

Thanks for a GREAT TRIP.

p.s They even recommended the Island Monkeys (a service that runs on tips and is happy to shuttle you back and forth from anywhere so we barely had to move the car). We also managed a phenomenally relaxing massage from a spa service on the beach walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatTimeswFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews