We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmosphere on the Veranda”
Review of Verandas Bistro - CLOSED

Verandas Bistro
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Atmosphere on the Veranda”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The atmosphere on the veranda, above the Apalachicola hustle and bustle, transforms you into the old coastal Florida lifestyle. Social, special, memorable are words to describe a casual meal or a family banquet, out on the veranda or in the beautifully designed Dining room.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shepfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    10
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wifes Labor Day weekend Birthday”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was our 2nd visit to the Verandas Bistro, once for lunch on a wet afternoon earlier in the summer. That day was a party of 4 and we all had good food and great service. The sweet potato fries are the best I have had. We live about 50 miles from Apalachicola and have eaten in several locations there. My wife really wanted to go back to Verandas for dinner on her birthday. I made reservations, they gave us a wonderful window table as requested, although the covered seating outside overlooking the street below would have been nice also, but wife's decision to sit inside. We chose a white California wine from their great selection and enjoyed a delicious appetizer of baked brie drizzled with honey and Georgia peanuts. We had the specials of the day, (and more wine) wife enjoyed fresh grilled cobia with a cajun sauce and I, a grilled grouper filet in a sweet pepper sauce and grilled asparagus. Both were cooked perfectly with great flavor. Outstanding in fact, excellently prepared and presented. Service and wait staff was excellent. Very personable and attentive. Even brought a slice of their Florida Sunshine cake with a candle for her birthday. The cake resembles and tastes like a dreamsicle from the old days. Yummy! Besides the 2 excellent meals we have had there, this is a Great place to come and have a glass of wine from a large selection or a choose from a few craft or other beers and see this historic town. You really must visit The Verandas Bistro.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryT51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“upscale dining in a small town atmosphere”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I had dinner at The Verandas in Apalachicola last night and was amazed by the service, food, and atmosphere and can't wait to eat there again. We were greeted right away by a very pleasant, sweet smiling young hostess who made us feel right at home. The restaurant is upstairs of an historic building right off the main street in town with wrap around porches. Our waiter, Christopher was great at explaining the specials, menu items we had questions about and making some recommendations. The food came quickly and tasted phenomenally, grilled grouper, fresh salmon and kobia and the desserts were out of this world: Florida sunset cake tasted like a dreamsicle and the mango key lime pie was delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort oglethorpe Ga
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Okay, but.....”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stopped in for lunch, no one in the place, which should have raised a flag. I ordered a bowl of soup, hubby ordered a burger. His burger was good , but they brought me a very shallow bowl of soup. I had to ask for crackers or bread. They brought out 4 crackers on a plate. The crackers were not fresh. Needless to say, it was not worth the price we paid. Will not be returning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank shannun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandasOwner, Owner at Verandas Bistro, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for dining with us at Verandas. I remember you very well; both you and hubby enjoyed your meals and ate every bite. To clarify to other guests the Lobster Bisque is served in New World China, a large but "shallow" bowl. Food network and cookbooks claim 6-8 oz = cup; 10-12 oz = bowl. New World China is a 10 oz bowl. Our homemade Lobster Bisque has both Crab and Lobster meat so at $9 is an exceptional price. I apologize for the crackers. We would certainly have corrected that mistake if you had brought it to our atttention. Hubby's Classic Smoked Cheddar Burger is 1/2 pound Certified Angus Beef, with aged cheddar , lettuce, tomato, onion and picke on a Kaiser Roll with cole slaw and sweet potato fries for $10, a great value. I remember he enjoyed every bite. Our chef uses only the highest quality ingredients; for two to dine for $19 is a great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“weekend get away”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My brother gave us a gift certificate since my husband loves wine. Great selection of wine. Both of us had the Grouper fish special which was very good. The service was spectacular. We had a window view of town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki57429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Verandas Bistro also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing