We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very romantic”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very romantic”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

great romantic getaway, friendly staff and rocking chairs on porch to enjoy a glass of wine. great place to hide, will be back.breakfast are good too, which makes it easier in morning. walking distance to everything.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dr I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    256
    102
    60
    27
See reviews for
98
770
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I love B&Bs as an alternative to hotels, and this B&B was one of the primary reasons we decided on Apalachicola for our weekend getaway. Check-in was at 3 but our room was not ready when we arrived at 3 on the dot, but the house is so close to downtown that we just walked down and meandered through the shops. The woman doing check-ins was very nice and apologetic for the delay, and also offered us tea and cookies while we waited.

We stayed in room "C" (Cloister) in the Veranda Suites and loved it, primarily because of the privacy. While the rooms in the main house and the house up the street were subject to multiple shared walls and hallway noise, the Veranda Suites are very private, and from what I can tell, are all more spacious than the traditional one bedroom/bath. I didn't love the decor in the bedroom - it's different from what's on the website -- but the bed was comfortable and the jacuzzi tub was great, so it was easy to get over.

I really, really want to give this place 5 stars, but the only thing holding me back is the breakfast. We arrived on Sunday of Labor Day Weekend for a 2 night stay. On Monday morning the dining room was pretty packed, but my husband and I were able to snag a seat at a two top table right by the door. The "breakfast bar" had been pretty picked over by this point (very little fruit left, no croissants, etc), but to be fair we arrived later in the 2 hour breakfast bar. We were then asked if we wanted the plated offering for the day, banana french toast. It was a very tasty "casserole style" french toast, but the portion was incredibly small. I also found it odd that there wasn't some sort of protein/breakfast meat offering with it. I brushed it off because, unlike other B&Bs where I've stayed, the Coombs house is pretty huge (totaling close to 20 rooms between the three houses, I believe), so I understand that they need to be able to feed the masses.

But breakfast the next day was not only a letdown - it was terrible. This was a Tuesday morning and the dining room was empty the entire time we were in there. We got there early and had access to the fully stocked continental bar, so I was able to get a big bowl of fruit and what tasted like a homemade apple cinnamon muffin. The plated option for the day was eggs, bacon and toast, which I was excited about because it sounded heartier than the option the day before. But when the plate came out I looked at my husband with dismay and said "these are powdered eggs, aren't they?". I've actually never seen powdered eggs (ha!), but he had just returned from a 7month submarine deployment and had eaten nothing but for breakfast pretty much the entire time. He then showed me what they do on the sub to make the eggs "taste ok" (put it on toast, add some sauces, etc), but they were just awful. It made me so sad that such a luxurious and beautiful B&B would cut such a big corner with breakfast. The bacon was pretty measly too.

We would likely stay at the Coombs again, but just plan on going to Cafe Con Leche or another place in town for breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay in the Veranda Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skippers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Columbia, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

There are actually 2 historical homes. We checked in one and stayed in the other one. I wouldn't go here for my honeymoon because you can hear everything in the hall. I looked in the room beside us because the door was open and it wasnt rented but it was huge and a huge bathroom. Our bed was squeaky. It was very clean. We had a little corner room upstairs. It was a little high but worth it if you like old houses. The lady who cleans and brings you towels, was very nice and accommodating. Check in was easy. I saw low reviews about people trying to checkin. Thank goodness mine went well and the lady was nice. We left to early to review the breakfast but the lady packed us some fruit and yogurt, which was very thoughtful. It's a perfect location, on the main road. It's a cute little town by the bays and easy access to the island. I would love to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bell, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Coombs Inn was a great place to stay. We reserved the smallest, least expensive room and when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to learn our room was upgraded! The Inn is beautifully decorated and comfortable. A very short walk downtown to shop or eat a one of the fine restaurants. Breakfast was good and they serve Starbucks (even in the rooms)!! We will visit again for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side may be a little cooler in the late afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

An easy walk from this Inn to charming unspoiled downtown Apalachicola. We made last minute reservations for the Magnolia room. It is a lovely room with a queen bed and french doors leading to the lobby on the first floor. Very convenient parking right outside the mansion. The Inn is across the street from an historic cemetery. The catholic church is a short walk. The next time I would like to stay in the Azalea Room on the first floor, a king room with a good solid wood door. The French Doors were beautiful and private but they allowed the light from the hall to stream into the room and I like to sleep in the dark. Breakfast was very good as was the coffee and tea and cookies available in the afternoon. This is a top of the line B and B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pissaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This B and B was totally delightful! Rooms were so well done and comfortable. The Breakfast was plentiful and good. We found the Jasmine room to be most convenient since we could access it from outside. Would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ata3911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was a spur of the moment decision to spend one night as we were driving from Seaside to Jacksonville and we followed Highway 98 to pass through many beaches we had never seen. We went out to Cape San Blas and St. George Island. Our arrival at the inn was charming and friendly. We had chosen the Heron Suite which had a veranda, a four poster bed, and a fireplace. Tea, coffee, and cookies were availbale in the dining room after we took our luggage to our suite. We walked to the town center where we found several very nice shops. There was a wine reception in the evening and we learned some history about the inn. Breakfast the next morning was continental in the dining room and also a hot entree was delivered to the table. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The inn does give a AAA and AARP discount when you check in if you have a membership card. We would stay again and happily recommend the B&B.

Room Tip: Check out the photos of all of the rooms. Each one is very unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U2andme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Property: Coombs House Inn
Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HRS so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing