We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Special Place”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We've been to many inns / B&B's over the years and the Coombs House is by far one of the best. Our room (The Magnolia) was beautifully appointed, the wine & cheese on a Friday evening was a lovely surprise, the breakfast was savory, and everyone who took care of us went the extra mile to ensure our comfort. The inn itself is conveniently located to town and is truly a gem, elegantly restored. Can't recommend it enough. Will gladly return there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarasotaShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    263
    105
    63
    32
See reviews for
103
796
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had a great visit here to Coombs Bed and Breakfast. The staff, breakfast, room, and location were all great. The lady who checked us in was very knowledgeable about the history of the B&B, the city, and the best places in town to eat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsamythomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were in town for Running for the Bay Half Marathon and received nothing but excellent service. We were able to check in early, received a late check out (so we could shower after the run) and they even provided access to breakfast early so we could chow before the run. Everyone was very accommodating and made our stay seamless. Would absolutely recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleAngry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Lovely room. Nicely decorated. The night we were there a really nice young woman checked us in. She was really helpful and knew a lot about the area. We were there for the marathon and she was very accommodating to our schedule and vegetarian diet.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happymoontrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We arrived in town about an hour before checking in. After walking around the downtown and driving around the town, our impression of the town was that it was "tired", proud of what it once was. Then, we drove to the B&B and were very pleasantly surprised to find a well-kept property, with friendly staff, clean room, and surprisingly for B&Bs in old houses, a quiet room! We had everything we needed and the breakfast was wonderful. Highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs in the main house. We had the Coombs Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Coombs House Inn is beautiful, quiet and the service is impeccable. We stayed at the villas which had a wonderful wrap around porch. We spent a lot of time in the rocking chairs, enjoying the cooler weather and reading our books.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is PERFECT!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennyhamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I honeymooned here. The Inn is restored quite nicely, and well maintained. The staff were most friendly, courteous, and had great dinner recommendations. I am sure Estelle will be missed. This is a perfect place for one or two nights. You can see the whole town in a day, the surrounding area in another day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coombs room. If you like quiet, this is not it. It is right above the dining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
187 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
268 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Property: Coombs House Inn
Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing