We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We loved our room and found the area very interesting. The breakfast experience was a bit lacking as the service was slow and food was boring with skimpy portions. The " happy hour " also lacking with skimpy refreshments offered. We stayed for two nights. A great place ,but needs work on their food and service departments.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry4012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    256
    101
    60
    27
See reviews for
98
766
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genesee, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Coombs House during the days following this past Labor Day Holiday. We checked in late and they made it very convenient to check in. They gave us dining suggestions and we found them to be very accurate. They had bicycles that we used to tour the town. The graveyard across the street was fascinating. The room was cool which was great because it was hot in Florida at the time. Our breakfasts were great. The employees were wonderful. We used the bikes and beach umbrellas which came in handy.
There was some road noise in the morning, so we were glad to be on the opposite side of the highway.

Room Tip: The room in front off the street was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed here for a friend's wedding, nice ladies running the house and check-in process. My room was not immediately ready at my check-in time due to a miscommunication but I took another room for one night to make it easier for everyone and the staff gave me a bottle of wine.

Also, the breakfast was great, the beds were comfortable and Kate Upton once stayed here! I would recommend this place to other visitors of Apalachicola.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmott79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnham common
Level Contributor
298 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A delightful southern house expertly managed by Donna who gave us a warm and hospitable welcome. The house is beautifully furnished and our Bedroom (Sandpiper) was a real treat in Victorian decor; a step is provided to climb into the large Queen bed. Everything is provided and if you’re going to visit Apalachicola then the Coombs House Inn is a must. Breakfast was excellent. Wifi did not connect in our room but was fine in the ante room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I don't usually write reviews, but after spending 3 nights at the Coombs House, I felt I needed to.
From the booking (by phone) to the heartfelt adieus, the staff were remarkably friendly, helpful and professional. They were well informed of the area and shared about local eateries, attractions and folklore. They made the trip vastly more enjoyable.
As for the Inn, well it was elegant, comfortable, homey, charming and mysterious. The tales of Mr. Coombs' ghost visiting his old room (the one we stayed in) added to the charm and mystificaton of the Inn.
Now to the food! Breakfast, served every morning, was freshly prepared and side dishes were abundantly available. The food was excellent.
Sightseeing in Apalachicola is limited due to the size of the town, but it has galleries, antique shops and gift shops aplenty and quaint working waterfront. Oysters are its hallmark and they are the best I have ever had. Apalachicola is home to one of the best Nautical Treasures I have come across, it is The Tin Shed, and is directly across form the river. The surrounding area is lush with tidal preserves and watersports. Fishing and kayaking seeming to be the most popular. Also the beaches in surrounding towns are superb.
All in all, we would highly recommend a visit to the area and The Coombs House Inn is a must. We will return in the spring for sure.

Room Tip: Every Room is unique! They are viewable on the Coombs House Inn website
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zman5750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Were there for one night as Seafood Festival goers had all the rooms booked. Loved room "Heaven 11". Beautifully decorated and a fancy bath. Nice staff and good breakfast. Hope to come back some time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reliance, Tenn.
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was delighted with my stay in the Magnolia Room. It was like a trip back in time to stay in this wonderfully preserved home with all the old wood and antique furnishings. The innkeeper and staff were friendly and helpful and made me feel special. Breakfast in the dining room was a culinary delight. The bed was ultra comfortable and I hated to leave. Hoping that I will get to return someday. Apalachicola is a perfect setting for this charming inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtngenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Property: Coombs House Inn
Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing