We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced bed without much breakfast”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Okinawa, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced bed without much breakfast”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at the Coombs inn this past weekend and I was disappointed compared to other bed and breakfasts we have stayed at. Both my husband and I didn't sleep great because we could feel the springs in the mattress. We went to breakfast at 8am and the breakfast area was already crowded but the only food out was boxes of cereal, a few yogurts and handful of bagels. I heard the workers tell another lady they were making an egg dish that would be ready in 10 minutes but 30 minutes we were still hungry and waiting. We decided to drive back to Panama City for breakfast. My husband went in to drop off the keys and he said breakfast was finally ready at almost 8:45am and he said it looked burned. If we go back to Apalachicola we will be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PammyG99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    263
    104
    63
    32
See reviews for
102
795
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Coombs House Inn was everything we had hoped for and more. Within walking distance of what must be Florida's best kept secret. Everyone was so friendly and the oysters were great.
The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 300nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed one night at the Coombs House Inn when we were passing through Apalachicola. Our room was "Eleventh Heaven", I highly recommend it. The location was nice, you could walk to the area of shops and restaurants downtown. The breakfast was good but nothing outstanding.

Room Tip: We only experienced "Eleventh Heaven" and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

It was kinda of like being back home in Scotland! Beautiful old house with old world charm! Our bedroom was precious! A Four Poster Bed with little steps to get up! The House was well taken care of and we loved our room. Breakfast was good too! Keep that coffee and tea coming!
John played his fiddle in the room which seemed quite fitting! We will be back! We stayed in the main original house!

Room Tip: I believe if your room was in the back it would be a little away from the traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REDCANNYSCOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Coombs House. Estella and her crew were courteous and helpful. It would be nice to provide decaf coffee for both the rooms and breakfast dining.. we had to ask for it to be made each day. We also found the duvet comforters too warm for our liking.. and no lighter cover available. Would recommend it to folks wanting a quiet getaway. Food in Apalachicola was great!
jcampbell44

Room Tip: No elevator for upstairs rooms. Pick a first floor room away from Highway 98.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcampbell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Loved it! Was our first B&B, and our four year Anniversary. Stayed in the 11th heaven, and it was just like described on the website. The bed was very comfortable. Everything about it was absolutely perfect! Can not wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blountstown, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed in the Cloister House and my only complaints are the Jacuzzi tub was only big enough for one person, the bed was a little hard, & the remote for the TV in the sitting room doesn't work (not even with new batteries). Also, if you stay in the Cloister House, you may want to bring a pellet gun to shoot the little taco bell dog across the street with. 3 am is when he likes to start yipping.

The benefits are an awesome breakfast every morning, the free bike & beach chair rentals, & the ambiance of staying in a historical building. Plus there's a graveyard right across the street if you like that sort of thing :)

Room Tip: If you don't care about having a sitting room and would rather have a bigger bedroom stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gijoeshmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
382 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
187 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
266 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Property: Coombs House Inn
Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing