We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!! My fiance and I would highly recommend this getaway!”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

You will be happy from the moment you check in! We will definitely be back for years to come. This inn would be perfect for a romantic getaway. The inn is surrounded with good people and good restaurants, you will truly enjoy your experience!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Trugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
There are newer reviews for Coombs House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Wow ..... had been through Apalachicola many times and this was first visit to Coombs Inn. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Beautiful old mansion.
Breakfast was super. We must be the King and Queen of Apalach. Be sure to try this place, I will again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donw634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I am a full time caregiver as well as a small business owner. With my husband recovering from a recent stroke, it was time to "take a short break". My mother and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The rooms (we stayed a night in one room and then had a suite the next night as our original room was already booked) were well appointed, extremely clean and wonderfully comfortable! The staff fixed a great extended Continental breakfast each morning, good coffee, fruit and other selections. We were made to feel very welcome and much at home! (try the cookies in the evening) We are already making plans to return in October and December. We were given directions to local restaurants, advice on what to see in the area - could not be a better place to "take a break"! Try it!

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building or the suites behind it
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjbravopc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a beautiful Inn. The photos don't do it justice. Quiet, clean, comfortable bed, great shower, and helpful, friendly staff! Substantial and tasty breakfast. Great location, with an easy walk to restaurants and shops. The Inn and supporting homes are very well maintained; not an easy task for homes that are over 100 years old, so that tells me ownership takes an active role in management. Interesting history of the mansion and town. We would definitely stay again when we return to Apalachicola.
BTW, we found the shops, restaurants, beaches, points of interest, etc. far better in Apalachicola than in neighboring Carabelle, Mexico Beach, or Port St. Joe. Enough to keep you busy for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A quaint B&B that exudes charm. Our 2 room suite with a private outside veranda was almost perfect. No decent mirror was the only flaw. We had plenty of room & only crossed a small parking area for breakfast in the main mansion each morning. The location was perfect in that we could walk wherever we wanted to go.
I'm sure that anyone who stays there would not be disappointed.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JCR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had high expectations for our stay. The staff were very welcoming upon our arrival, but it all seemed a bit rehearsed and rushed as opposed to warm and personal; which I'd expect from a B&B. We stayed in the "guest house". Although the room was lovely and charming, the shower head was completely broken so the water mostly trickled and the bathroom door was quite difficult to close. I'd expect some things to not work properly in an old home, but for $270 per night, I'd expect everything in a little bit better order. We wanted to fresh coffee and creamer served in our room so we called the front house. We were told to come to the back, but when my husband came it was locked. He went around front and then... well we never got the coffee. We paid an extra $50 for linens and breakfast for our two children. The small quiche serving and other items for breakfast were not impressive. We so enjoyed Apalachicola, but would not return to the B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FamilyofTravelers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Loved our room decor, very clean, the hosts were nice, and overall the inn is intriguing. The town is very laid back, loved the Maritime Museum, and found the best oysters at a little place called "Hole in the Wall," which it was, literally. Great food, best gumbo ever. Unfortunately, a few simple items could have changed the inn rating from three to a five. We had visited Apalachicola previously and knew the inn was on a busy road, so that wasn't an issue, as I've seen others complain. However, I did ask for a firm bed and was told all mattresses are "Sealy Posturepedic" so that wouldn't be a problem. Both my husband and I were very sore from the softness of the bed. Two other issues, minor. The breakfast was not very good (stuffed French Toast) and we ended up going out the second day. Lastly, there is not a full length mirror anywhere in the room and the lighting was not conducive to applying makeup, easy fixes

Room Tip: We did not stay in the main inn and really were glad, as our room was very private and had a nice fr...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Char C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
392 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
191 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range: £67 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing