We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nearly as good as their publicity.”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Pros: Fresh hot full breakfast--nothing fancy; good location close to historic homes, walks and downtown; friendly staff, historic property.

Cons: Although the Coombs House Inn is prominently featured in many respected publications, it feels as if they are resting on past laurels. The house has undeniable architectural charm but our room furnishings were not consistently above average. It seems like the owners tried to maximize profits and have as many beds/baths as possible. The small breakfast kitchen is next to the dining room which resulted in strong cooking smells on day 2. Breakfast lacked any variety in cereals & no breads/toast were present although I'm sure the staff would have accommodated requests. Our 1st night (Wilson room) bathroom was tiny and the water pressure was low, like light rain. The room was off a main street (for a small town). 2nd night in Hemingway "Jacuzzi" suite was disappointing. Bedding was stale and the room over a garage lacked a defined conceptual decor with materials and construction well below average for the price. Beds were very firm in both rooms and street noise in the Hemingway was high. I will give them their due but I would like to try other places in town, although the Coombs may likely turn out to be one of the better places in Apalachicola.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarDavMiddleGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,084 - 1,090 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2009

While traveling up Florida's west coast, we had to find somewhere near Panama City to sleep in order to meet a client there the next afternoon. I had heard Apalachicola was a fun place to visit, so I started there. I found Coomb's House Inn while doing a general search online. HOW LUCKY I WAS! We arrived about 6 p.m. in time for "complimentary wine & cheese" in a gorgeous home filled with antiques and beautiful furninshings. Every room was finished off with lovely moldings and wood work.

The owners were charming and personable, visiting with their guests in the dining area, as they continued to check new arrivals in. Our double room on the second floor, the Raney, was traditionally decorated, huge and comfortable with down pillows and soft mattresses. On the both the first and second floors, there were big porches to relax on and read over the local travel books that were available to the guests. Breakfast was easy on everyone - any time between 8 and 10 a.m. and besides fruit, yogurt and cereal, the eggs benedict and hash browns gave us a perfect start for our day. We will go back for a longer stay...both to enjoy the Coomb's House and to shop and eat in Apalachicola - a great little town with neat shops and delicious seafood!

Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
Thank Malise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

It's everything they say it is...and the Apalachicola oysters are to die for. Take the Coombs or Tupelo rooms if you can.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank B0b E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Great place for relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the inn was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eomyekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

Coombs Inn is a wonderful victorian style hotel that has significant history behind it. It is comfortable and closely located to area shopping, eating and museums. A great place to relax, romance and have the most wonderful food. Thanks ya'll for such a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConroeGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2008

The Coombs Inn was a relaxing, friendly, and fun atmosphere. The town it sits in is quiet and has delicious foods! We thoroughly enjoyed riding bikes provided by the Inn at no charge. The wine and cheese hour, breakfast, and cookies were wonderful. The Inn's manager was the most engaging, friendly, and well let me put it this way- It was as if we knew her for years.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank Imani34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the historic Coombs House Inn to break up our journey and had a very pleasant stay. Our room (Heron) was in the original old house which is stunning and has been wonderfully restored. The room was large, with direct access on to a shared verandah, and furnished with lovely antique style items. Breakfasts were delicious and filling, and served in a wood pannelled dining room.

The staff we met were all without exception, friendly and helpful. They had restaurant recommendations and suggestions of things to do in the area. We enjoyed a day at St George Island, as well as wandering round downtown Apalachicola with its historic buildings, interesting shops and working docks.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quiUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
396 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
192 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
279 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range: £68 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing