We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was truly a "heavenly experience" and would highly recommend it to anyone.”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Excellent experience. I'm sure you may, but I would have/should have suggested a vegetarian breakfast choice. Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momandpopsrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,057 - 1,063 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2009

My husband and I decided it was time for a spur of the moment getaway and we chose the Coombs House Inn for our destination. The grounds and property were nicely taken care of as well as the rooms. The staff was always at our disposal if needed but never being pushy, leaving us to feel right at home. Stella the house manager is the most down to earth and friendliest person you could meet, that on its own made the stay great!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hudini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

The properties of the Coombs House are lovely but the room are way to crowded for comfort -- this may not be true of all of the rooms but both ours and our traveling companions were cramped for space. I would advise people to make sure which rooms they are getting before staying at the Coombs House Inn

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merlincpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Looking forward to coming back within the next month

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsytraveler1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

What a lovely place! We traveled for a family function and only stayed one night. We booked at the last minute and took the only room available . What a wonderful surprise. Friendly staff that helped us get settled in, gave us a tour of the house and suggested a great place for dinner. We're already planning our return visit, this time for a long weekend (and we'll be taking our dog).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

I have stayed in B&B's all over the world and choose this type of accomodation because of the welcome and service you usually receive. The location and facilities were great but the welcome was less than welcoming and the service at breakfast and in our room was appalling. Two of the three mornings, we had to go to the kitchen and ask for mugs for our coffee, sweetner, cream. The muffins were usually gone, the orange juice was empty and glasses for juice and water were no where to be found. Two mornings we had to ask for silverware. The dining room was so hot that guests were fanning and perspiring and we had to request that the air be turned on. It was apparent that the staff needed more help but that does not excuse the rudeness of the ones in the breakfast area. In our room, the coffee pot was not cleaned in three days, no clean mugs were left and 1 bottle of water was left per day for 3 guests. The owners live in town and either need to be on the premises or hire staff that will treat the guests appropriately for such an establishment.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Our trip to Apalachicola was made even better by staying at the Coombs House Inn. I am certain it is one of the best, if not the best, Bed and Breakfast in town. The location is ideal for walking to nearby restaurants, art galleries and shops.

We stayed in two separate rooms since our room of choice was booked the first night. The first room (room 18) was very small, but we expected it to be. The room also faces Hwy 98; however, the window a/c unit helped drown out any street noise, and we slept just fine. The second night we stayed in 11 Heaven, and it was wonderful: jacuzzi tub, four poster king-size bed, and comfortable sitting areas.

As other reviewers have said, the breakfasts aren't gourmet. But the food was satisfying enough, and the 3pm cookies and lemonade were a wonderful respite from the heat.

If travelling to the Forgotten Coast, I highly recommend the Coombs House Inn. While there, take advantage of the complimentary beach towels and umbrellas and go to St. George Island for a day at the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
405 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
196 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
282 reviews
8.6 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range: £67 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing