We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, hospitable, personalized service”
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coombs House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Sill have crik in my neck from slanted ceiling, artifical knees still sore from walking to third floor. Loved my stay!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleBPalmSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoombsHouseInn1905, Manager at Coombs House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. For some reason your review went into the terrible catagory even though it was a good review. We are sure this is an oversight and hope you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

895 - 901 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

This is a beautiful home in a lovely setting that is very convenient to everything in Apalachicola. Lizette, and the staff, are warm, friendly and very helpful. There has been great attention paid to even the smallest detail in decorating this charming home so that it feels very much like you have are stepped back in time to a grand era.

The beds are soft, but very comfortable, although the pillows are not. And the bedding had a faint odor that followed us home and had to be laundered from our things. It reminded me of burnt sausage. But I have a strong sense of smell because my husband didn't notice it until I pointed it out to him. The rooms are immaculately clean, so I'm not sure what the story was with the smell.

The towels are large, soft and absorbent, which we appreciated, but there only two supplied, making it difficult to to dry washed hair. But there is also a bath robe for the ladies, so that helped fill the place of the extra towel.

The rooms are very large and beautifully decorated with elegant furnishings authentic to the period. They are obviously of fine quality, offer a few different places to sit in the room, but not very comfortable. Our TV was very small, but I'm sure it was because it detracted from the Victorian ambiance in the room they had successfully achieved.

The breakfast was delicious and extensive and we enjoyed the afternoon tea very much. This is one of the few places we've stayed where they serve a rich blend of Starbucks coffee both in the guest rooms and in the parlor. It was a nice touch, especially along side all the wonderful home made goodies they serve.

We noticed they had brand new bicycles parked out back and wished we had had time to use them. Since the Coombs House is so close to everything, it would have been nice to give them a try.

On balance, we really enjoyed our stay at the Inn and will probably book there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This was my 1st trip to a B & B and I chose the right one. Coombs House is so beautiful and my room, The Tupelo, was so pretty. Everything was perfect. Great atmosphere with freindly staff. They made us feel special. I traveled with a friend, but would not hesitate to travel solo here. I'm already checking the calendar to plan my next trip. Stay here when you go to Apalachicola, you certainly won't go wrong!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We really enjoyed staying at the Coombs Inn for Valentine's Day weekend. The location was perfect and we were able to walk wherever we wanted to go. They had menus of some of the best restaurants right there when you check in. We enjoyed tea and snack when we got there as well as a wine reception Saturday evening that included dips, crackers and cheeses. We used the bicycles they had, but only one worked properly so it cut our bike ride short. However, they said new bikes had been ordered. Also, the cleaning staff did not service our room because they thought that we were checking out. So they communication between them and the office staff was not up to par that day as we asked the office staff several times for clean towels and finally got some when we stopped a cleaning lady right when she was about to leave around 4:30. That though is my only complaint! I would stay at Coombs Inn every time I visit Apalachicola and I hope that some of my friends and family will stay there too some time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ergermano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We were greeted warmly the minute we walked in by Lizette. She explained everything about the B&B to us. Breakfast was wonderful and the beds are so comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmay2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We stayed 2 nights in January 2011. We really enjoyed! We were in Tupelo room on the 2nd floor of the main building. The furnitures and the house style is antique and elegant, like to be in the beginning of 19th century. Our room was wide, quiet and the bathroom was clean and had an old-style bath tub. We had a good american breakfast with a variety of foods. Guests can the little library of books and reviews.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgoeBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Nice, very personal service. Lovely old house in the Real Florida (note the capital R and F!). The environment is nice also - you can walk to shops and restaurants that are not chains. The shopkeepers are there, as opposed to some apathetic kid, and they are engaged and friendly. Speaking of friendly, the innkeeper at the Coombs House Inn was very nice and took the time to teach us about the area, the house and its history.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank chofack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
396 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
192 reviews
18.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
279 reviews
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Address: 80 6th St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1750
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range: £68 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing