We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but tasty”

Up the Creek Raw Bar
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Pricey, but tasty”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We all got something different: crab cakes, chicken strip sandwich, conch cakes, and amberjack; we all enjoyed our meals. We sat on the patio overlooking the water and fishing boats. It's a casual place with prices about $15 a person.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieKellyGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    427
    120
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairview, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply the best in the area.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Try the lobster salad special!! Everything here is good. Oysters to vegan salad to burgers. It's a top 3 in apalach.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chuck m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland TN
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food with a Nice View”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our last night in Apalachicola, we chose Up The Creek for a oyster heavy supper.
At Up the Creek, everyone orders at a counter then the severs bring the food to your table.
Seems to work OK. It was just a little too warm to eat outside but there is a very nice
view from Up the Creek's deck. For our dinner, I had a dozen raw and a dozen steamed Parmesan.The raw were nice and cold--very enjoyable. The oysters Parmesan were steamed with Parmesan cheese on top. It's a first time for me and worthy of a repeat. My wife had her standard gumbo and salad. Gumbo was very good with average seafood in it. Not New Orleans quality but very good. We were full so we ordered our dessert to go. We each took a Key Lime pie back to the room. The pies were excellent. Enjoyed our experience and plan on coming back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdn_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Why the change?”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I have been coming to this place for years. It was our favorite place. It's confusing why the service has changed so much. It changed from a full service restaurant to pretty much a self serve. You order at a counter now and sit to wait. A server brings your food but that's it. However, they do come by and ask if you need anything and then proceed to tell you where to get it. Really??!! Why ask then! Truly unfortunate that this is what a restaurant would want to offer its patrons. Only eat here if you want to spend a small fortune to serve yourself and eat subpar seafood.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the casual dining atmosphere. You are able to seat yourself, fix your own drinks, & get your own condiments, as needed. You walk up to the counter to order & are given a number. Then the food is brought to your table. Quick service for a sit-down restaurant. We chose to sit on the deck & really enjoyed the view. The burger was good & I was told I could get "fixins" (pickles, tomatoes, lettuce, & onions) from their salad bar. The shrimp basket offered a generous portion (10 shrimp) and was tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AUH0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Up the Creek Raw Bar also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Up the Creek Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing