We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot for a light lunch”

Up the Creek Raw Bar
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Madison, WIsconsin
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good spot for a light lunch”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We enjoyed oysters on the half shell and steamed head on shrimp as a light lunch out on the screened in deck. Place is set up with counter service style where you order your food and find a seat. The woman who took our order at the counter wasn't the most helpful or friendly and she could have done a bit more to make us feel welcomed, however the waitress who took care of us once seated was responsive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeachyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    433
    125
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best seafood we found in the area”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed on St. George Island, but we ate here three times. Everything on the island paled in comparison. We live in Dallas, TX so we don't get really fresh seafood. My French husband said the oysters were the best he's had since moving from France. The soups -- both the crab and lobster bisque and the gumbo were unbelievable, and my son scarfed down the clams with gusto. We highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed....”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

No fried oysters here in the oyster capital of the world. Disappointed, so ordered the hamburger for 7.50 & got a commercial/prefabbed meat patty. Husband ordered the grouper for 21.00; was about the size of your palm. We did order oysters on the half shell, they were good. Had to keep getting up & walking to the salad bar for ALL condiments throughout our meal, about 5 times between refilling drinks & condiments. This really disrupts your meal. When they say self service,,,,they mean self service. Was told by a local you "order at the counter" to keep their prices down. I cannot imagine what it would be for full service....We both agreed we should of left from the beginning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
2 reviews
“Great Food & View”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Salmon was a very good a large portion, loved the nice view, staff friendly, liked you could choose your own toppings at the toppings bar.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RiaC265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Waterfront Location; Quick Service; Very Good Food”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A local recommended this place to us upon a recent visit to Apalachicola. We loved sitting on the covered upstairs deck with a view of the water. Their conch cakes are amazing. It was a pretty busy place on Sunday starting at noon, but the service was still quite good and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Up the Creek Raw Bar also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Up the Creek Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing