We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for snobs”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apalachicola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apalachicola River Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Kissimmee FLA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not for snobs”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

great stay, good food, not for pinkys up crowd, stayed there last year awsome breakfast. do not expext the ritz . clean great room on second floor .wonderful sunrise have stayed at other hotels in the area but this fits to a t

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krazbob72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    116
    43
    17
    17
See reviews for
40
212
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Graceville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent Memorial day weekend there. The room was wonderful, and the view could not be beat. The town is very quaint with a lot of antique and boutique shops. We ate the the Inn's 2 restaurants, The oyster bar and Carolines. I have to say the hot cooked breakfast was a real treat, as most places give you a small selection of cold food to choose from. The staff was very friendly. We spent the evening sitting outside on the walk way just watching the birds and the boats going past. If you want to get away and just forget about everything just want to relax I would highly recommend The Appalachicola River Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
When staying at the inn awake early each morning.Catch the beauty of the mighty Apalachicola River. Smell the coffee perking. Enjoy an early breakfast. Watch the peliquin the shrimp boats. "All memorable events I should say transpire early in the morning". Henry David Thoreau, Caroline and Larry owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We booked this hotel...spur of the moment, while visiting Apalachicola for a day trip. We had so much fun in this cute, quirky town, that we found ourselves still hanging around about 5 PM on a Friday evening. We looked on tripadvisor and saw that Apalachicola River Inn offered a discount. We fully expected a "dive". The night we spent at the Inn (and the breakfast that was included) turned out to be a highlight of our trip. Our balcony overlooked the river, it was private. The room extremely clean and bright. The breakfast was excellent (although, don't be in a hurry), and our table had a wonderful view of the river as well! The front desk personnel was very kind at check in and check out. We felt very welcomed. It is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We loved room 15 because it is the only balcony that isn't screened in (although screens might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thanks for all the kind reviews, Your kind input keeps us on track and makes all of our staff try harder. Our love affair with the Apalachicola River Inn, Caroline's and the Boss Oyster has continued for the last 24 years. We are getting up there in years so we don't' do social media. No Facebook twitter or tweets. Our social media is to enjoy our guests and local color each evening at our Roseatte Spoonbill Lounge above Caroline's and to ask where You'all from. Come see us come back. We are happy here. Caroline and Larry owners P. S. tell other travelers about us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I just got back from Apalachiocala. We spent 2 night at this wonderful Inn. We were in Room 10 on the first floor. No problem with noise. What can I say, the staff was pleasant, the breakfast was wonderful, and the sunrise was spectacular! Don't understand the negative comments about this Inn. It's not the Hilton, or Hampton Inns (which are fine) BUT this Inn complements the feeling of the whole town. We definitely recommend to family and friends and look forward to our next visit. Oh yeah, we took advantage of staying on Sunday and Monday and received $30 off the regular price...what a deal!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank January1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We arrived in the rain and left in the sun, but the stay was perfect either way. We stayed in a first floor queen room with a huge picture window looking right out on the bay. It was a perfect spot from which to watch the boats go by, visit the local shops, and take in the local history at the Orman House and the Maritime Museum. Great way to slip away from hustle and bustle for a day or two.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Panhandlemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Cannet, France
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A nice place to sleep in the little town of Apalachicola. The hotel offers rooms on two floors by the river. The room are clean, the view is nice and you may dine there or have a breakfast by the river.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Guy F , Le Cannet, France, Thanks for visiting our little town of Apalachicola on the Apalachicola Bay, and the beautiful Apalachicola river. Time stands still here in this old Florida setting. A fishing village and blessed to be the home of the best oyster on the planet Thanks for staying at the Apalachicola river inn. Our rooms are clean, our pride. As a guest you are given a home cooked breakfast at our restaurant Caroline's dining on the river,including always fresh squeezed orange juice. Breakfast lunch or supper Caroline's delights on serving fresh local seafood in a tranquil setting on the river. Thanks for your kind review on Tripadvisor, We take pride we will try harder yet, We are happy(and honored) here. All the best Caroline and Larry, Proud owners Hurry back"Viva La France."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

While on a road trip we ended up at this Inn after going through several towns that did not look safe or inviting. We considered Best Western which was a bit cheaper but decided on the River Inn due to it location which was within walking distance of restaurants and bars. We checked in and were informed that breakfast at Caroline's was included in our rate (breakfast was really good). Our room #3 was really cute, overlooked the river and had a couple chairs. It was a bit chilly but would really have been nice if the weather was warmer. If in the area again would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shortjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
shortjo, Thanks for checking out the town before you made your choice. Nice surprise for us. Thanks for staying and your kind review. The Apalachicola river inn is a one of a kind property. Not because of any thing we have done but because of its "Old Florida" riverfront setting in the down town historic district. We try to make the inn be all it can be.The theme is simple. Take the setting and honor the location. We want to make it user friendly. Comfortable clean rooms that are continually upgraded. Honor your patronage. Start your day each and every day of your stay with a cooked to order breakfast at Caroline's River Dining. Check out Caroline's on Tripadvisor. We are famous for our breakfast on our dockside gazebo. The dawn of a new morning. Boats, birds, sunrise,morning sounds and fresh Florida orange juice. Guess you have to know we want you here. Check our discounts Sunday through Thursday on our web site or tripadvisor Drive to the river see our rooms. See you soon Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
20.2 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apalachicola River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apalachicola River Inn

Property: Apalachicola River Inn
Address: 123 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1736
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Apalachicola River Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing