We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retro roadside motel”
Review of Rancho Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rancho Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Monticello,IN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Retro roadside motel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband & I & are 2 small dogs spent one night here before heading to St. george for the week. It's not a new or fancy hotel, but was clean, had a nice pool, & very friendly staff. Internet was not very good, we had to stand next to the office to get a connection, but not a big deal. They did charge us $20.0o more than the rate I was quoted when I made the reservation, saying because it was close to the holiday.we were there more than a week before Memorial Day, so I didn't quite understand that, but we didn't really have a choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirbyqMonticelloIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    57
    19
    13
    6
See reviews for
28
59
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We've stayed at the Rancho Inn several times over the years. The staff are very helpful and nice. The rooms and grounds are clean. It's an older hotel, so it has it's issues. Squeaky showers and such. Someone hooked up the hot water wrong in one shower, these are minor issues though. As far as I know they have the lowest rates in the area. It's in a safe area, very close to downtown Apalach. It's about at 25 minute drive to St George Island. That is a very nice drive though. Over bridges and through the woods. We saw bald eagles, osprey, and all kinds of other birds just on the drive. Sometimes right up close outside your car window, so have a camera ready! They are right next to the Hong Kong Bistro too, great food and great prices only a short walk away.

Room Tip: No elevators here so if you can't climb them ask for the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is an older property, but well-loved and cared for. The owner lives on site, and obviously takes great pride in her establishment. The rooms are clean, well-maintained, and the bed was nice. Carpets appeared to be newish, and clean as well. We asked about a taxi, owner advised there was only one, and sometimes unreliable. She offered use of the bikes she keeps for customers, but we were planning on drinking, so we declined. She gave us the taxi's number, and then wrote her name and cell phone number on the back, said if we got ready to come back and the taxi driver wouldn't answer, or took too long, to call her, she'd come get us! Now that, my friends, is customer service! There were some construction workers who were staying there long term, and from our conversation with them, this lady does not put up with any shenanigans at her place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scmeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Okay if you look at this place it screams dirty roadside motel. The only reason it was considered was because Apalachicola was an impromptu stop on our way home and it was the cheapest in town. But it turned out to be a rather nice surprise. The receptionist was friendly and very helpful. He gave us a list of things we should try to do during our short stay. The room was clean and didn't have any kind of odor. The room also had a fridge which was very useful. The AC worked too well and it became every cold very fast. We left to buy groceries and on the way out my girlfriend turned the AC to low saying you know it always takes forever for these things to cool a room. We were gone maybe 20 mins and came back to an ice box. The hotel pool was well maintained. And the inn also offered free WiFi for their guests which was a life saver because my girlfriend and I have T-mobile and we didn't have coverage in Apalachicola. So thanks to the WiFi we were able to at least email with our phones everyone back home to tell them we made an impromptu stop and we be a day or two late. Its not a 5 star resort obviously, but it definitely wasn't a hole in the wall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saileatlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night while riding from Orlando to LA, only place in town with rooms! Rooms freshly cleaned for us and receptionist have great advice on where to eat.

Great for an overnight stay, would stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MattJames69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We are touring Florida on our tandem bicycle and staying in a different town every night. The price is $25 less than the Best Western across the street. It is about a mile to the restaurants downtown. The rooms are large and clean. They have interesting indirect lighting all the way around the room above the crown molding that can be dimmed. Bed good, shower good. Coffee pot, micro and fridge in room. The internet did not work at all the night we were there. They reset the router, but it never did work.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioDave_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmonsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stay at this hotel! You will sleep well on the bed and the atmosphere is safe! The lady even sent me to a great place to eat! She was very nice and willing to help. I'm glad we decided to stay there! I will go back again. She even spreads the guests so you're not under one another.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayc1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
17.8 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
8.8 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
19.6 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Inn

Property: Rancho Inn
Address: 240 US Highway 98, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1872
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rancho Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Management! Hotel under remodeling. Rancho Inn is a recently-renovated hotel located in the historical coastal town of Apalachicola Joe on Florida's forgotten Gulf Coast, less than 30 minutes from Port St. Joe and, Mexico Beach and 20 minutes form St. George Island. The Rancho Inn sits just 2 miles form Apalachicola downtown with public boat launching facilities, and close to marinas offering fishing charters and waterfront dining. We pride ourselves in cleanliness and good old fashioned friendliness. You will enjoy the home like feel we try to impart to all our guests. We try to make you feel like you are truly guests in our home. We the owners do live here on the premises. When you are talking to us on the phone, in the office or on the property you have a 99% chance that you are speaking to an owner. We care what you think of us and our establishment and want you to enjoy the time you spend in our city. If there is anything we can do to make your trip and your stay more pleasurable, Please don't hesitate to ask. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rancho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing