We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we paid for!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rancho Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what we paid for!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

1st off the front desk guy was nice.The drink machine was out of order and $100 dollars is WAY over priced for the accommodation's. If you would place this motel in the city I live in, it would be full of drug dealers, drug user's and hookers. Don't plan on staying there again unless it for $30 ... And that might be a reach...

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank law391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    55
    19
    13
    6
See reviews for
27
57
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Clean, comfy, well-kept, friendly, accommodating, etc. I have nothing but good to say about our stay at this mom & pop. We loved it. The staff was friendly and went above and beyond to meet our needs. Good cooling for our room. Staff was very knowledgeable of area and directed us to sites of interest. Will return to this mom & pop again.Enjoyed sitting outside in early morning watching fishermen go to work with the big boats. Apalachicola is lacking in affordable restaurants but we went to grocery and cooked in microwave or made sandwiches which for us was no big deal.Clean, maintained pool that is ideal for relaxing because the depth is no more than 4 feet. St. George Island was a great place to visit and spend the day exploring, relaxing on an uncrowded beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had read the reviews. It was just what we wanted. Came on granddaughters' Spring Break. We got a suite, which gave the girls their own area. Motel folks are easy to deal with and helpful at recommendations. We didn't go to the upscale restaurants or boutiques, but had great food and a great time on the beach and at Estuary museum. We did go to Carrabelle as a day trip, enjoyable.
A decent place in an exotic natural and touristy place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank OlGramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night on our way to New Orleans. Wanted to drive up the coast from Tampa. It was okay for myself but my Girlfriend didn't like it. We booked a non smoking room but the room smelled of smoke. Management ( husband & wife) was very responsive of situation and did their best to make us happy. Seemed like some of the guest actually lived there. It's an old place that is very dated(rundown) but priced reasonably. A/C worked great pool was nice. And there's a convenience store across the street. This place could be nice but it seems the owners don't want to improve their investment.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello,IN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband & I & are 2 small dogs spent one night here before heading to St. george for the week. It's not a new or fancy hotel, but was clean, had a nice pool, & very friendly staff. Internet was not very good, we had to stand next to the office to get a connection, but not a big deal. They did charge us $20.0o more than the rate I was quoted when I made the reservation, saying because it was close to the holiday.we were there more than a week before Memorial Day, so I didn't quite understand that, but we didn't really have a choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirbyqMonticelloIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We've stayed at the Rancho Inn several times over the years. The staff are very helpful and nice. The rooms and grounds are clean. It's an older hotel, so it has it's issues. Squeaky showers and such. Someone hooked up the hot water wrong in one shower, these are minor issues though. As far as I know they have the lowest rates in the area. It's in a safe area, very close to downtown Apalach. It's about at 25 minute drive to St George Island. That is a very nice drive though. Over bridges and through the woods. We saw bald eagles, osprey, and all kinds of other birds just on the drive. Sometimes right up close outside your car window, so have a camera ready! They are right next to the Hong Kong Bistro too, great food and great prices only a short walk away.

Room Tip: No elevators here so if you can't climb them ask for the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is an older property, but well-loved and cared for. The owner lives on site, and obviously takes great pride in her establishment. The rooms are clean, well-maintained, and the bed was nice. Carpets appeared to be newish, and clean as well. We asked about a taxi, owner advised there was only one, and sometimes unreliable. She offered use of the bikes she keeps for customers, but we were planning on drinking, so we declined. She gave us the taxi's number, and then wrote her name and cell phone number on the back, said if we got ready to come back and the taxi driver wouldn't answer, or took too long, to call her, she'd come get us! Now that, my friends, is customer service! There were some construction workers who were staying there long term, and from our conversation with them, this lady does not put up with any shenanigans at her place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scmeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.2 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
8.8 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
19.6 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Inn

Property: Rancho Inn
Address: 240 US Highway 98, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1872
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rancho Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Management! Hotel under remodeling. Rancho Inn is a recently-renovated hotel located in the historical coastal town of Apalachicola Joe on Florida's forgotten Gulf Coast, less than 30 minutes from Port St. Joe and, Mexico Beach and 20 minutes form St. George Island. The Rancho Inn sits just 2 miles form Apalachicola downtown with public boat launching facilities, and close to marinas offering fishing charters and waterfront dining. We pride ourselves in cleanliness and good old fashioned friendliness. You will enjoy the home like feel we try to impart to all our guests. We try to make you feel like you are truly guests in our home. We the owners do live here on the premises. When you are talking to us on the phone, in the office or on the property you have a 99% chance that you are speaking to an owner. We care what you think of us and our establishment and want you to enjoy the time you spend in our city. If there is anything we can do to make your trip and your stay more pleasurable, Please don't hesitate to ask. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rancho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing