We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting stuff”

Apalachicola Maritime Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
cape cod
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Interesting stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Wide array of maritime stuff from the past. You can also rent kayaks there to put in the river right behind the museum.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank iosilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    46
    22
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting place to learn history of Apalachicola.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The museum was just ok for me but the adventure trips and boat building caught my interest. On my next vacation I will check out one of the boat tours they offer. Looks like fun. I will also check out the do-it-yourself boat building.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Coach2042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cute”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Small but interesting. Explained the history of the area, the oyster and cotton business and had some interesting photos and exhibits.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank surfcityred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
427 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Interesting glimpse into the history of the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Small museum, free but they ask for a donation, which chronicles the history of Apalachicola and the area including logging, sponge diving and oyster harvesting. The also offer boat tours but we were too late in the day to participate in one. Worth a quick visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank blnavarremary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennice, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Boat tour & museum visit make nice combination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We arrived at the museum just as a tour was taking off so we hopped aboard. The captain offered an excellent review of local history as he worked his way out into the bay and back along the waterfront up the river. It was easy to understand how the area became prominent back in the 1800's and the key role the river played in the development of the area and the region.

He stressed the quality of the water and the importance of the surrounding area as a refuge for wildlife. The wildlife sightings were few because of the season but we did see bald eagles, an alligator, and some cormorants as we wound around the tall grasses of the creek.

The boat ride was three hours and I wish we had brought a lunch, but it made the museum exhibits even more interesting and the videos well worth watching.

The

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GingerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apalachicola Maritime Museum also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Apalachicola Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing