We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night Out!”
Review of Dixie Theatre

Dixie Theatre
Ranked #12 of 22 things to do in Apalachicola
Attraction details
Charleston
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Night Out!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

What a wonderful vintage theater in a perfect little seaside town. The staff were so friendly and the show was great fun. We'll be back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Part of the lovely historical downtown”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

How many times have you gone into a store and noted a sign on the front door warning, "Toilets for customers only!" or some version thereof. (One Gulf Shores eatery advertises "$10 to use restrooms if not a customer!") Even if you understand why, it feels like an invisible hand pushing you back out the door. In the charming, historical northwest Florida community of Apalachicola, you are more likely to encounter a sign like this (on the door of the Dixie Theater): "Gotta go? Go here. We appreciate your business. Our restrooms are for everyone. We welcome all who have to go." Along with it's stunning setting on the salt marshes of Apalachicola Bay and beautiful historic downtown and residential areas, it is this welcoming atmosphere that makes Apalachicola a truly special community. Once the third largest US port on the Gulf of Mexico, the city fell on hard times with the loss of the cotton and lumber trade and later the sponge fishery. But it is precisely because of its isolation (heck, it's on the Chamber of Commerce-embraced "Forgotten Coast"!) and economic decline that it managed to avoid the over-development and tawdriness that has afflicted so much of Florida, including the nearby communities of Panama City and Destin. You hear the hype "old Florida" a lot these days, but here the term really seems to really mean something.

And obviously, the community gets it. A major renovation project in the 1980s made the once-abandoned, gracious Gibson Inn a magnificent restaurant and hotel once again, and other projects have rebuilt several of the remaining brick warehouses along the waterfront. Public toilets and a very helpful city tourist information office are located downtown. New shops have taken up residence in nicely restored old retail buildings. A dozen excellent restaurants -- most featuring the justifiably famous local oysters -- and bars have opened. Ecologically-oriented tours are available, and an estuarium attracts visitors, as well as a small marine museum (where you can build a real pirogue if you have the time.) Historical markers (the town dates back to the early 1800s even before) are situated throughout the downtown. To ensure the community and surrounding area (check out the stunning beaches on nearby St. George Island), the county has enacted a law that limits development to three stories.
Apalachicola is really a must for any visitor to Florida who wants to see what things looked like before it was discovered -- and then ruined -- in the 60s and 70s. But don't just stay in the cute downtown. Take the time to walk along the shady avenues toward Lafayette Park, enjoying the magnificent cottages and Victorian homes that line the streets. At the park, walk out on the public wharf into the salt marsh and appreciate the beauty and richness of this remarkable resource, as clearly the locals do. Apalachicola is a town that is reinventing itself. Perhaps with the confidence of Shoeless Joe in "Field of Dreams," they figured they would build it and they will come. Well, they didn't build --they renovated, and buildings that have abandoned for 50 or more years have been brought back to life and brought new vigor to this lovely Florida community. Desperate as we are these days for anything that seems authentic, anything that's real and connects us with our past, tourists are indeed coming. Personally, I hope the "Forgotten Coast" remains that way, at least for those who are looking for Wal-Marts, fast food restaurants, jet-skis, and highrise condos.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Candonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“On Golden Pond”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

What marvelous show. Great cast for local community theater. Very fun and affordable night out. Surprise of our vacation.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun outing”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This small theatre offers an amazing variety of entertainment, most by local artists. there are a few tables right in front of stage where you can enjoy drinks. The balcony seating is comfortable. Very reasonable admission. Attended several offerings and next year hope to go to all during our stay.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank flynduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Very Musty Odor. . Allergies Beware”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We really wanted to experience a show in this great little landmark theater.
We stopped in to consider going to see a show and buy tickets ahead of time. Once step in the door and the odor of mold/mildew told us we could not attend. I have life long allergies and I would have died in there. Heads up for those with respiratory issues.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dixie Theatre also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Dixie Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing