We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oysters!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hole In The Wall Seafood

Hole In The Wall Seafood
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lockport,, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oysters!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a wonder place, if you like great food and a casual, homey atmosphere. We devoured our first dozen oysters so fast, we just had to get a second dozen. They were so very fresh with a subtle sweetness. The fish sandwiches were well prepared and very tasty. Besides the outstanding food was the wonderful waitress. She was quite a character and made the entire experience so much fun. At one point, she sat right down with us (briefly) and we so enjoyed her visit. We hope to get back there again soon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    131
    41
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss it oyster lovers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Best oysters I have ever eaten! I wish I could have tried them all but there's no so much time in a day and room in my belly. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. If you're anywhere near here don't miss it. Make sure to find out when the any restaurant is open in this town thought because it seems they keep their own hours.

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingwithSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must go for oysters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This was my favorite place to eat on our trip to the area! Raw oysters were priced reasonably. We sat at the bar and talked to the gentleman as he shucked our dozen. The oysters were much bigger than others we have gotten in the area. Them owner rides to the seafood shop a couple times a day in order to ensure that the oysters are good and fresh.

The man who owns the place has a grouper boat....we highly recommend trying the fried grouper! And the gumbo was delicious as well.

No frills but good food! Can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food & great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This place certainly exceeded our expectations! Our party of 7 had grouper, shrimp, crab cakes & fresh oysters. Everyone agreed that this was the BEST seafood we had had in the area (or anywhere else!). And to top it off, we had some of the best service ever! It took Barbara, the waitress, a few minutes to get to us as the place was busy when we arrived but our food arrived quickly. Keep in mind that this is a small place with four tables that could seat 6-8 max. w/ only one waitress. The staff is extremely friendly & funny! We have eaten out at several other restaurants in this area (including Eastpoint & St George Island) and this is definitely THE BEST!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is the place to go to for oysters!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just spent 2 weeks on St George Island and we had oysters for lunch everyday! I think we tried every restaurant in Apalachicola and Eastpoint to see who had the best oysters. The worst place we found was Bayside Seafood on 98 in Eastpoint. The oysters were tiny and gritty. Just horrible. The next day we found Hole in The Wall and their oysters were AMAZING! They were huge and had a great taste! Next year we'll skip all the other places and just go here for our oysters. Having given this place a perfect 10 I do have to say one thing did not impress me. Apparently the man shucking the oysters and one of the waitresses used to work at Papa Joe's. While we were there the man actually pulled out a bad review written about Papa Joe's that they had printed out to show their customers. VERY VERY tacky!! You do not have to "trash" another restaurant in order to boost your own!! When we got back to our condo I actually looked up the reviews for Papa Joes and out of 274 reviews they had 6 bad ones. My advice is to stick to having the BEST oysters in Apalach and leave the trash talking to the other restaurants. And yes....we ate at Papa Joe's the next night and it was AWESOME! However, we will still never go anywhere else but here for our oysters and I encourage everyone to give them a try.....you will not be sorry!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovesPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hole In The Wall Seafood also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Hole In The Wall Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing