We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool Atmosphere; Great Steamed Oysters”

Hole In The Wall Seafood
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Daphne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Cool Atmosphere; Great Steamed Oysters”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We visited this restaurant twice during a 4-day stay in Apalachicola. I really liked the atmosphere. There might be a wait as the seating is a bit limited, but it is worth the wait in my opinion. They have a seafood market inside as well. I tried the raw, steamed, baked parmesan, and rockefeller oysters (they offer a combo option). They were all very good, but my favorite was the steamed. You really don't need much sauce as you don't want to drown the taste/the sweetness of the oysters. I would recommend this place without reservation. The prices are reasonable and the service was very good. They are not open on Sundays and Mondays, so keep that in mind.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    142
    44
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were on the bike headed to Port St. Joe. We were thirsty and hungry. We stopped, parked the bike and walked across the street. We always like hole in the wall places to eat, that's exactly what we found. The A/C was cold, the beer was cold, and the raw oysters were great. I would recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank bdaddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bypass a Hole in the Wall”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our group of 9 ate here and we were all disappointed. My grilled grouped sandwich was greasy and very fishy. The fries tasted as if they were from a frozen bag. The waitress seemed extremely rude initially, but did seem to warm up to us. Portions are very small and you drink sodas out of a can. I do not recommend at all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Seafood Ever!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This place is honestly one of the coolest places. All the food is so incredibly fresh and delicious! The service is amazing and they make you feel at home. I would definetly eat here again and again!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland TN
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Basic Hole in the Wall”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We saw good reviews about Hole in the Wall and with my love for oysters, we wanted to give it a try. I started with a dozen raw. They came to the table just a little cool and not really ice cold (how I like them) but were nice and salty. The sauce provided was just right. The oyster stew was very tasty with plenty of oysters (and a lot of onions). Not my favorite but I think it was really nice. I finished with the grilled grouper sandwich. The sandwich was really good. Would recommend it. My wife had the seafood casserole which appeared to be more of a seafood loaf heavy with breading. Don't think I would recommend this.
Hole in the Wall had a real laid back atmosphere which I enjoyed. The staff were very friendly and speedy. If you're looking for a real basic seafood restaurant, I would recommend this to you.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cdn_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hole In The Wall Seafood also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Hole In The Wall Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing