We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters so good they need No condiments!”
Review of Boss Oyster

Boss Oyster
Ranked #14 of 37 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Price range: US$7 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Oysters so good they need No condiments!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Came here for their oysters and weren't disappointed. Iced down and just perfect. Also had the "Journey End" sandwich which fulfilled it's description and then some. Too big for one person to eat! Cassandra (in the bar) provided excellent service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oystr, Owner at Boss Oyster, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thanks for your kind review. In your short meaningful review you have defined our mission. Our third generation oysterman John Stokes has been with us for 8 years. His dedication is paramount to our business. He is one of two oystermen in the Gulf coast who is certified by the International Sanitary Shellfish Commission.Each morning bright and early he ices the hold of our Boss Oyster boat and leaves to catch the best oysters on the planet. He understands as we do at the Boss that this is a one of a kind opportunity on the Gulf Coast. By mandate by the State of Florida this oyster must be chilled from the ambient temperature which may be as high as 70 to 80 degrees to 50 degrees or less in two hours. We have met that standard for years and we have our feet held to the fire to do this. Fishermen ice their fish on capture. Why ,Taste and safety. There is a reason that the Apalachicola oyster is the tastiest oyster on the planet. PRISTINE WATERS. WE will ice your raw oyster to slow that oyster from its natural purpose pumping in and out. A Boss Oyster IS A HAPPY OYSTER. Only we can do this. No trips by road. "No Road Time Here" We chill your raw oysters from "Bay to Belly. WE are excited to be named by Food And Wine Magazine "Top Oyster Bars in U.S.A..2013 WE are happy here we are excited here Boss Staff and Larry And Caroline proud owners. WE are Oyster town Oyster Republic come see us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    294
    214
    102
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful service, good food”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our family of four ate at Boss Oyster this evening and had a great experience. It was sweltering hot outside so we asked to sit indoors which was much more comfortable, but not air conditioned. Our server was very friendly and very attentive. Our food came out of the kitchen equally as fast. My four year old had a hot dog and fries, my two year old loved the corn fritters, my husband had a huge fried flounder and I ate the grouper basket. We also had a smoked fish dip appetizer. All the food was delicious and the prices were quite reasonable. This was our second visit to Boss Oyster and we will return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodiemom36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The birds were our entertainment for the evening!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Big tip for my TA friends: get covered seating unless you want to be swooped down upon by uninvited feathered guests! The seagulls and other shore birds will steal the food right off your plate. The owners have taken steps to combat the bird issue by stringing fishing line in an X pattern in the covered areas, but in the uncovered areas it leaves the guests vulnerable. We were lucky and were in a covered area and watched as the birds had the decency to let people finish their dinner before swooping in, but the poor guy holding the check kept swatting at them with his napkin. OK, enough of the birds...as for the food, it was pretty good, your basic fried seafood offerings. I had the scallop basket which had very tasty small bay scallops (the best kind IMO). The mahi sliders were proclaimed yummy by my youngest. Service was very slow and erratic which is why I am giving only 3 stars.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BKS_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
144 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome Corn Fritters”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Try the corn fritters for sure! Other items we ate were ok but nothing great. We had their special. Fried tiny shrimp, oysters, and scallops. Corn fritters made it worthwhile.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nommie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best oysters anywhere”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Not even sure where to start. Well we had a dozen raw oyster served on a bed of ice, which sure beats up the creek. They serve their oysters with no ice. Yuck! For dinner I had the grouper blackened which was great. My husband had eaten the journeys end, that is one big sandwich. Both of our children had popcorn shrimp, which they loved. Being from Tallahassee we come this way at least every couple of months. Thanks everyone.....

Helpful?
1 Thank babysbabys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oystr, Owner at Boss Oyster, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
baby'sbaby, Thanks for your support,thanks for your kind review. You are our neighbors.When you visit Apalachicola to sample the "world's tastiest oyster"we want to be ready with the best. Our raw oysters,which we gather with our own boats are "chilled from bay to belly". We serve your oyster atop a bed of ice on a "silver" platter. We hope you will visit often. We are excited about our new wood burning grill in our oyster "kitchen." Make sure to try fresh Apalachicola oysters flame broiled over oak log embers. "Your Oyster is Our World".Hurry back!! We are happy here. Caroline and Larry Maddren AND our proud and excited staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boss Oyster also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Boss Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing