We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Owl Cafe

Owl Cafe
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The food was decent but something seemed amiss. I couldn't put my finger on it, but maybe the atmosphere? Maybe we just weren't in the mood for white table clothes? And definitely not the freshest oysters, actually didn't eat one of them because it looked "off."

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Char C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    908
    295
    91
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The food is excellent, while the service is friendly but slow.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

After giving up finding decent food on St. George Island, we found ourselves crossing the bridges to eat out, and on our last night of vacation, we wanted to go somewhere a little special. The Owl Cafe was perfect: a little classier than the raw bars, but most people were in nice shorts and the like. Many other reviewers commented on the slow service, so we were ready for that, but the servers were all friendly. The food was really good, too. I had the special with the scallops -- axing sauce, but it runs into the potatoes and veggies. My husband had raw oysters, which were great (and about $4 cheaper than what they charge on the island) and the steak for dinner -- melted in his mouth. We also ordered the soup, a cream spinach which was decadent. All-in-all, we had a great dinner! I agree with another reviewer who had wished the little gift shop had been open!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great overall!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Great overall! I think the prices were pretty high but most of them were worth the portion of the food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CriticOfVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unmet Expecations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Before reading this review, please keep in mind that even consistently good restaurants may occasionally serve a less than perfect meal. I chose to try the Owl Cafe because of the high reviews in TripAdvisor. I had read the reviews in advance and took the time to familiarize myself with their menu. They had something to offer everyone in our group of six adults and three children. We stopped in for lunch after spending the morning shopping in Apalachicola.

As noted in other reviews, our service was extremely slow. We waited an uncomfortably long time for our server to introduce herself and take our drink orders. At that time we ordered two appetizers: Tuscan Grilled Bruschetta and American Blue Crab Dip. Both the appetizers were absolutely delicious. I especially enjoyed the crab dip. Even those in our group that normally do not eat seafood loved it. After such wonderful appetizers, we had high expectations for our entrees.

Unfortunately, we had another uncomfortably long wait before the main courses arrived at our table. There were four cheeseburgers ordered by our group. Each was requested to be cooked either medium or medium well. However, they were all prepared identically - well done to the point of being stiff and dry. The patties may have started at half a pound, but they were a bit smaller than a quarter pound after cooking. After waiting so long for our entrees, we did not consider sending them back to the kitchen. My wife was equally disappointed with her Chicken Wrap. It was heavy on Feta and devoid of any other notable flavor profiles. On the other hand, the Grouper Sandwich that I ordered was good. The kids also enjoyed their Grill Cheese Sandwiches.

It's been said that disappointment is caused by unmet expectations. We definitely had high expectations for the Owl Cafe that were not met, but I would still try it again if we return to the area. As I stated earlier, even great restaurants can occasionally serve a meal that is less than perfect.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jefftea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little disappointed ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Went here for an anniversary dinner. Service was great - my husbands dinner was great - mine was awful! Barely ate it (chicken marsala). No compensation - not that I was looking for it but it would have been nice to offer. There are lots if better and more affordable places to go!

Helpful?
1 Thank keaveney-walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Owl Cafe also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Owl Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing