We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb facility. Superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb facility. Superb service”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed here last minute for one night when power went out on St George Island. Joan was very helpful in setting us up in a queen suite (room 304). Two bedrooms. Queen in one and bunk beds in other. Hard wood floors throughout. Roomy sitting area. Screened in balcony overlooking Apalachicola River. Functional kitchenette though we didn't use it. Levi set my son up with a fishing pole, and he and his sister caught several sail catfish off the marina slip right below our room. Swimming pool a nice break from the heat. Service at the front desk was universally superb. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryLeesTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    65
    24
    15
    10
See reviews for
92
211
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston TX
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Our first time in Apalachicola and this place made it perfect. Love the screened in porches overlooking the river, watching the birds and sunset. Rooms in mint condition, great kitchen, comfy bed. Walking distance to every part of town. Fun to watch the boats along the dock. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bec228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This was our second time staying here and the rooms all face the hallways which are noisy as people drag their luggage along the tile floors and talk by the pool all hours of the night. Could not reach anyone st the front desk at 2a.m. For assistance.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bijemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed here for one night after we were married on the beach in St. George. The room was stunning we almost didn't want to go on our honeymoon to the carribean knowing we were leaving this heaven. The room was stunning and huge! The kitchen was beautiful and the screened in porch was the most spectacular way to view the river. The staff was so friendly and bent over backwards to help up check in later after the reception. We booked our next stay and can't wait for it. the bed and bedding were superior to anything else in the area. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissieMom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

During our road trip up the west coast of Florida, along the Gulf, we decided to visit Apalachicola. Prior to our visit, I found online the Water Street Hotel and Marina. The pictures on the website looked very nice so I called to get additional information. I spoke with reservations who was very informative and assured us that we wouldn’t be disappointed with their property. She advised that there was much to see in Apalachicola, the hotel was clean, well furnished and well appointed with all the convenient amenities. She advised that the town was very historical and the food in the local restaurants was great. We did not make a reservation because we wanted to see the room before we made a commitment.
Upon arrival, May 24, 2011 we looked at the room which was well appointed with a separate bedroom, nice kitchen and living space, a great screened in terrace looking directly over the marina and Apalachicola River. After we checked in, we found the room to be bit dusty, dead ants and dust on the window sills and the chair railing was dirty. We decided to stay and would have housekeeping address these issues the next day when they came to service the room. We scheduled to stay two nights.
The next morning we noticed that there was blood stains on the inside of the bedspread. It was really disgusting. I can understand some things in a guest room missed at times but when bedding is compromised and stains like blood and bodily fluids are left unattended it makes you wonder what else is going on that you don’t see. Blood stains can subject you to illnesses
After calling twice, we demanded management to see the situation. They finally came to see the bedspread and the condition of the room. The front desk person and the room attendant were very apologetic and assured us that they would address the issue which they did. They changed all the bedding and replaced the bedspread with a clean one.
We really liked Apalachicola and would have stayed longer. It was really a shame because we liked the room, and the view. The room rate was very expensive; with taxes was $180.00 per night.
We were so upset it actually spoiled most of our day. When you pay that kind of money for an upscale room, the type of guest experience that we encountered should not have happened. I contacted the Chamber of Commerce and will be contacting the BBB.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NativeNewYorker1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHM, Manager at Water Street Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
With certainty, The Water Street Hotel & Marina takes every problem, issue & complaint as a main priority in finding a solution.
Upon checking into the hotel, the couple was very verbal about their unpleasant stay in Cedar Key (please see their other reviews.) The couple communicated to us the review they gave on Trip Advisor regarding their last rental property in Cedar Key on or about May 22nd. Our staff that had interacted with the guests made certain to communicate these past experiences to our room inspector. Before checking into their unit, it was inspected with special attention, as we do for all of our arrivals and especially to the bedding & linen. It was of little surprise when we received their call the next morning about their duvet. However, how to handle this delicate situation caused quite the conundrum. After they placed their call to the front desk, two members of our staff went to their unit. The type of exaggerated behavior and comments by the guests was such, which it was obvious to the staff that this couple was going to ask for a free or discounted stay, which in fact they did. Several staff members also believed that these guests were using Trip Advisor as leverage to achieve such benefits as a discount. Our staff immediately corrected every concern these guests related. These concerns and complaints did not rise to the level that a discount would have been warranted. Our staff found it questionable if the stains on the duvet were in fact on the duvet prior to these guests arrival; especially in light of their Cedar Key review.
Before their departure, a call was placed, by management, to the other rental property they stayed in Cedar Key. The gentleman expressed to us the exact issues we experienced with the couple, and he was relieved to have received our call.
After their stay a call was received from their credit card company asking for a discount or credit. Their stay was reviewed in detail with the credit card company. The credit card company decided in favor of the Hotel and no discounts or credits were provided to the guests.
It is very unfortunate to have people misuse Trip Advisor in order to gain a benefit of discounted rates. I hope our other reviews reflect the true reflection of our great accommodations and staff The Water Street Hotel & Marina has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowflake, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I had only one night to spend at the the Water Steet Hotel & Marina and wished I had a whole week. The rooms a very nice and mine had a SCREENED in large balconey so my husband and II could sit and enjoy the Apalachicola River. If we had a boat, we could park it in their marina and then spend the days exploring the river and nearby islands. We did take the sunset river cruise offered by the hotel. Capt. Jerry took us where alligators were swimning about or tucked up in grassy nooks. We saw plenty of birds and learned the history of the area. When I go back to Florida, I want to make this hotel my destination and make day trips out from there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet1395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

First, the location is right on the end of the main waterfront street and within blocks of dining and shopping. Parking is a few feet from the lobby and guests are offered a complimentery glass of wine upon check in. The accommodations are lovely and so different from the usual Florida condo decor because the floors are hardwood, the furniture is traditional and it all looks new or very close to new. Our unit had 2 complete bathrooms, a king size, 4 poster bed, and a screened porch with dining table, 4 chairs and chaise with two additional chairs all overlooking the river and marshes. The view is peaceful and the sunrise spectacular. The kitchen has everything needed to prepare a full meal including a full size range, over the range microwave, full size refrigerator with ice maker, dishwasher, small appliances, dishes and cutlery. There is daily maid service just like a regular hotel. My only complaint is that the floors need a very good vacuuming to remove dust and small debris. Otherwise, this was a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for second or third floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
375 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
586 reviews
8.8 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
272 reviews
19.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Street Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Hotel & Marina

Property: Water Street Hotel & Marina
Address: 329 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1427
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty NEW upscale condominiums with all the services of a hotel! The minute you step onto the grounds, you'll lose track of everything but the beautiful natural wetlands and the lazy Apalachicola River. If you enjoy solitude, you'll enjoy this. One and two bedroom, two bath condos feature a living-dining area with fully equipped kitchen, stainless steel appliances, washer-dryer, flat screen cable TVs, high speed internet, private screened veranda overlooking the river, outdoor pool and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Water Street Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel And Marina
Water Street Hotel Marina
Water Street Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing