We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful and Peaceful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Round Rock, Texas
2 reviews
“A Wonderful and Peaceful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We were extremely pleased with the Water Street Hotel & Marina. The accommodations were beautiful and so well-appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the furnishings were well-thought out. We enjoyed the enclosed veranda overlooking the marsh - such a peaceful environment. We enjoyed having a full kitchen so that we could enjoy the local seafood in the privacy of our own condo. We found the owners to be so friendly and helpful - giving great advice about the area. As we spent time in town, we heard such kind words about the owners, too. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dardenlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    62
    23
    13
    10
See reviews for
89
199
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Overall, my husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Water Street Hotel. The good far outweighed the bad, which is what I expected based on the reviews here. I was somewhat worried about the Argentine ants as described in some reviews, but we were told at check-in to not leave any food open or outside of the fridge and they shouldn't be a problem. (Also, a note -- the Argentine ants are EVERYWHERE in Apalachicola, not just the Water Street Hotel. We saw them everywhere we went ... so if you're wildly opposed to ants, an outdoorsy vacation in Florida might not be for you.) We stayed on the 3rd floor and never saw an ant in our room or on our balcony, so it was not an issue for us.

The room:
-The room was wonderful. These "rooms" are really condos - much more spacious than your usual hotel room. We paid an average of about $200/night, and I feel like the room lived up to that price. We had a master bedroom with a king bed, another room that was a small dressing area (a nice dresser, chair, and another full bath), and then a spacious living room and full kitchen. There are flat-screen TVs in both the living room and bedroom, beautiful hardwood floors, and stainless steel appliances in the kitchen. I think our favorite part was the balcony - not only do you have great views, but the patio furniture is comfortable and perfect for lounging around. The only complaint I have about the rooms is the bathrooms -- they were both VERY small and had very weak water pressure. The water in Apalachicola is also very soft, which means your skin has that slippery feeling and it feels like the soap never truly comes off. It's frustrating enough trying to get shampoo and/or conditioner out of your hair with weak water pressure -- add in soft water that doesn't seem to cleanse well and it's a nightmare! My husband and I both felt dirty by the end of the weekend and showered immediately when we got home. Also, both bathrooms have pedestal sinks, which means no counter room.

The hotel staff:
-The staff was genuinely welcoming and very professional, especially Joan. Sometimes the attitude of hotel staff can ruin your experience, but I would say that this hotel's staff actually enhanced our stay. Every time we needed something, most of them went above and beyond to get it for us.

The housekeeping:
-I read another review that said their stay was ruined by poor housekeeping at this hotel ... and while I wouldn't at all say our stay was ruined, I would say it was dampened. The poor housekeeping is the only reason I would seriously caution someone against staying at this hotel. On the first day, we came back while the housekeeper was in our room and she was very polite. Before leaving she asked us if we needed anything else or extras of anything, and we said no and thanked her. After she left though, I realized that she didn't replace any of the towels (just took our dirty ones and didn't replenish them), and also didn't replace the continental breakfast that was in our fridge. I stopped by the front desk to get muffins for the next day, and the front desk clerk was very nice about it and apologized that it hadn't been replaced. On the second day, I assume housekeeping didn't come at all -- we came back to our room at about 3:30pm to find the pile of towels still on the floor, the bed unmade, and the room exactly how we had left it. We tried to call the housekeeping extension from our room phone, but it rang off the hook and no one ever answered. We then went downstairs and were told that housekeeping had already made their rounds for the day and they weren't sure why our room wasn't cleaned, but that a housekeeper was still there and she could come clean it. We opted to just take towels and clean the room ourselves. The woman at the front desk who gave us towels was very nice about it, and it wasn't a big deal to clean the room ourselves ... it's just not what you expect when you pay $200/night.

The "continental breakfast":
-The hotel states that they offer a complimentary continental breakfast, which is actually a muffin, yogurt, and a cup of fruit (per person) in your fridge. It worked out fine for us, but most continental breakfasts have more options. I realize that this hotel is limited by their size and they don't have a huge kitchen/dining area where they can serve hot breakfasts every morning to guests, but I think that should have been specified on their website.

Overall, we would stay here again and probably just ask for extra towels and bring our own breakfast bars. The staff was friendly and helpful, the views were spectacular, and the poor housekeeping didn't make too bad of an impression on us.

Room Tip: I'd personally pick a room on the 3rd floor to limit the chance of ants and get the best view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachbummer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Water Street Hotel for the first time over the July 4th weekend. We couldn't have been happier. We walked into our third-floor suite to find dark wood floors, a full kitchen, and a large screened-in porch overlooking the Apalachicola River. For $180 per night, it was very posh.

The staff, especially Leigh and Judy, were professional, down to earth, and accommodating. We didn't need it, but the hotel has a golf cart with seating for several people. If you schedule it, staff can drive you into town.

Apalachicola is one of our favorite places on earth, and now we have a new favorite hotel. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GvilleFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed here last minute for one night when power went out on St George Island. Joan was very helpful in setting us up in a queen suite (room 304). Two bedrooms. Queen in one and bunk beds in other. Hard wood floors throughout. Roomy sitting area. Screened in balcony overlooking Apalachicola River. Functional kitchenette though we didn't use it. Levi set my son up with a fishing pole, and he and his sister caught several sail catfish off the marina slip right below our room. Swimming pool a nice break from the heat. Service at the front desk was universally superb. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryLeesTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Our first time in Apalachicola and this place made it perfect. Love the screened in porches overlooking the river, watching the birds and sunset. Rooms in mint condition, great kitchen, comfy bed. Walking distance to every part of town. Fun to watch the boats along the dock. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bec228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

This was our second time staying here and the rooms all face the hallways which are noisy as people drag their luggage along the tile floors and talk by the pool all hours of the night. Could not reach anyone st the front desk at 2a.m. For assistance.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bijemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed here for one night after we were married on the beach in St. George. The room was stunning we almost didn't want to go on our honeymoon to the carribean knowing we were leaving this heaven. The room was stunning and huge! The kitchen was beautiful and the screened in porch was the most spectacular way to view the river. The staff was so friendly and bent over backwards to help up check in later after the reception. We booked our next stay and can't wait for it. the bed and bedding were superior to anything else in the area. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissieMom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
8.9 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
19.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Street Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Hotel & Marina

Property: Water Street Hotel & Marina
Address: 329 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1427
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty NEW upscale condominiums with all the services of a hotel! The minute you step onto the grounds, you'll lose track of everything but the beautiful natural wetlands and the lazy Apalachicola River. If you enjoy solitude, you'll enjoy this. One and two bedroom, two bath condos feature a living-dining area with fully equipped kitchen, stainless steel appliances, washer-dryer, flat screen cable TVs, high speed internet, private screened veranda overlooking the river, outdoor pool and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Water Street Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel And Marina
Water Street Hotel Marina
Water Street Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing