We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded every expectation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed with 5 other families all of us with 2 children and had the best time! All the staff was so helpful and full of excellent recommendations for restaurants. The rooms were perfectly decorated, clean, updated and had many configurations to choose from. We loved our stay in Apalachicola!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redingtontodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

Without question, this is one of the best hotels on the planet. Nedra and the wonderful folks at the front desk made our stay perfect. Their recommendations for restaurants set the standard for others to follow. Job well done!

Room Tip: Just ask for the best rate available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The hotel is very nice. A lady named Nedra who worked in the front office did an excellent job of taking care of all our needs. She made our stay very very nice.

Gene

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigduck95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The hotel is really nice and very well decorated. It looks new, but it's 4 years old. Nedra took our reservation and checked us in. She couldn't have been more accommodating.
Martha Smith

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Beautiful place, well appointed. Could use a little more attention to detail from housekeeping. The beautiful hardwood floors were rather dirty. The only things missing from being perfect would be a fan in the master bedroom and some sort of chest of drawers or other clothes storage. OK, if you are overnight but when you stay longer as we did it is a pain. The staff was friendly and helpful. The small pool was very nice and as long as you're not next to the pool it's very quiet. It rained the whole time we were there and we still loved it. Dolphins, gators, osprey and turtles all from our excellent balcony!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B52Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Even though I have more affection for a couple of other places, this may be the nicest hotel in which I have ever stayed. We did upgrade at the last minute to a 2-bedroom suite (room 108) and paid extra so a more expensive suite will no doubt be a bit nicer than other rooms, but I’m sure all rooms at this hotel are above standard. You can tell they take pride in what they are doing – this is not some slick motel chain. The first thing you notice about the room is the high ceiling. Second thing you notice is the hardwood floor which is Australian Cypress (I had to look that up). The furniture is first class all the way – their description says it is Ernest Hemingway-style. The couch was incredibly comfortable. The beds are comfortable, although I’ve been on more comfortable mattresses (usually Serta). The bathrooms are probably the nicest I have ever been in (you get 2 bathrooms in room 108). They provide you with plenty of towels and Gilchrist & Soames bath products – all this is arranged in a very classy way. You have a fully equipped open kitchen with stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, and even a dishwasher. Open up what looks like a closet door, and behind it you will find your own washer and dryer. You get a flat screen tv with dozens of cable channels. I couldn’t get the wifi to work, but the cable came in very well. You have your own private veranda overlooking the river. It is screened in which is good and bad – you keep out the mosquitoes but you can’t lean over the railing to look out very far. Still, very nice. The deck furniture is again first rate. Outside is a very small pool with a large deck. The pool does not go deeper than 5 feet, but it’s nice for a quick dip. I am shocked that a place this luxurious is dog-friendly but am grateful that it is; so few places outside Panama City are. The fact that the hotel was high on Tripadvisor’s list of dog-friendly hotels in the panhandle is why we booked a reservation here on our way to Cedar Key. If I wasn’t looking for dog-friendly hotels, I never would have discovered it. Our German Shepherd Roxie fell in love with the place immediately, and she was so calm and at peace that not once did she bark the whole time we were there. I was also able to take her down some side stairs to a grassy walking area that runs around the front of the hotel out of everybody’s way and out to the parking lot. Apalachicola is a dog-friendly town as well. Many people are walking their dogs, there is a great pet store, and dog water bowls are outside of some stores. The dog-friendliness of both Water Street Hotel and Apalachicola in general is a plus for many people, but if this is a minus for you, you will want to go somewhere else. The lady at the front desk of the hotel was as friendly as can be. The staff does not have a problem with anything here; they even leave a note on your door apologizing if they misunderstood your “do not disturb” door sign. I never saw any “don’t do this” and “don’t do that” notes anywhere. If I want to nitpick, because no place is perfect – there is no restaurant in the hotel. A hotel this nice usually has one. Of course, there are plenty of good restaurants in walking distance, but our room was so nice we wanted to eat in on our veranda and watch the boats go by on the river. You do get a complimentary glass of wine at check-in. The hotel is so beautiful on the outside that it is such a shame that there is a dirty old seafood plant with a rusty roof right next door to it. On the plus side, the location is very quiet with easy off-street parking, a loading zone, stairs and ramps. I don’t think there were many people staying when we were there (we were there on Monday and Tuesday nights – could be different on weekends), but it was dead quiet the whole time. I hope that is because the walls are thick. As I said, you are within walking distance to charming and friendly downtown Apalachicola where there are plenty of nice restaurants and great shopping. It is good to remind people that the hotel may be waterfront, but it is on a river, not the ocean. Everything here went so smoothly. This place is so nice that we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RootlessRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We were extremely pleased with the Water Street Hotel & Marina. The accommodations were beautiful and so well-appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the furnishings were well-thought out. We enjoyed the enclosed veranda overlooking the marsh - such a peaceful environment. We enjoyed having a full kitchen so that we could enjoy the local seafood in the privacy of our own condo. We found the owners to be so friendly and helpful - giving great advice about the area. As we spent time in town, we heard such kind words about the owners, too. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dardenlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
387 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
594 reviews
8.8 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
279 reviews
19.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
281 reviews
8.9 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Street Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Hotel & Marina

Address: 329 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1427
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range: £98 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty NEW upscale condominiums with all the services of a hotel! The minute you step onto the grounds, you'll lose track of everything but the beautiful natural wetlands and the lazy Apalachicola River. If you enjoy solitude, you'll enjoy this. One and two bedroom, two bath condos feature a living-dining area with fully equipped kitchen, stainless steel appliances, washer-dryer, flat screen cable TVs, high speed internet, private screened veranda overlooking the river, outdoor pool and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Water Street Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel And Marina
Water Street Hotel Marina
Water Street Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing