We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot for a longer visit here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
West Palm Beach
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot for a longer visit here”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Best parts (all best): All suites have 2 bedrooms, all have balconies overlooking the river (perfect for a cocktail at sunset) and all are well appointed/furnished. Pool isn't enclosed, and mosquitoes love the marsh next to it, but it's nice in mid-day.
The hotel's staff (Nedra) couldn't be sweeter! What a warm welcome and helpful info about Apalach. They'll do shopping for you, too - so your kitchen will be stocked with whatever you choose. There's very little noise in Apalach at any given hour, but it's still as quiet as can be here - a peaceful place to recharge. Beds are comfortable, there's wifi if you must, in each room. Docks are nice - on quiet spot in river that leads to Scipio Creek...awaken to gulls overhead and sunrise in your portholes. Elevator, some covered parking and a bike ride or stroll to the cute downtown.

Room Tip: Elevators are on east end of hotel, so if walking is a problem...also, there is no bellman, though p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nativefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    65
    24
    15
    10
See reviews for
92
211
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed for four nights in what is essentially a one bedroom, two bath apartment, with a large living room/kitchen area and balcony overlooking the river and marshes. Apalachicola is something of a quiet small town in the off season, but we were looking for peace and relaxation, not nightlife or crowds. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The suite was generous and upscale without being ostentatious and it was a very reasonable value. I'm not sure we'll ever go back to Apalachicola, but if we do, the Water Street Hotel is where we'll stay!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the water; I would choose the top floor again for best view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EarthmanByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I wake up in the morning with the french doors wide open - I hear the Pelicans snatch fish out of the river, splashing down awkwardly efficient; dolphins appear periodically and there's an eagles nest across Scipio Creek that I can train my fieldglasses on when I want . . .

It's got a great screened porch, a full kitchen, two retro tiled bathrooms and lazy overhead fans. Even my wife is impressed by this place. It's all very new and very clean and the staff is unfailingly pleasant and professional. The welcome kit includes juice, muffins and yogurt and there's a nice fish place hidden in the reeds down the Creek.

Room 101 is on the ground floor and on the corner of the building, convenient, airy and very big. The pool deck is around the corner, private, sparkling and stocked with fresh towels.

I'll stay here again for sure if I can ever get back to Apalachicola. It's a pleasant place to amble around with quiet side streets, a new botanical garden, a working fishery and a pottery/liquor store.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Fantastic hotel property . A must stay if your plans include appalacacola

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We just had the best vacation and it was mostly due to the wonderful Water Street. Myself, my husband, and my 2 daughters (ages 5 & 8). I have so many compliments to write but I'll try to limit myself.. Every morning we walked out On our porch and saw a couple dolphins in the canal, we also saw an alligator!! We are from Northern Michigan so you can imagine our excitement. I cannot say enough about the room.. We choose the King room with bunk room.. Wow! Gorgeous!! And super Clean!! We had stayed in some gross hotels on our drive to Florida so it was a major relief to have a spotless room. I love the charm of the location.. At the edge of town but you can walk to all the shops and restaurants. We didn't mind driving to the beaches because we were welcomed back to a beautiful clean room. It felt good. We wondered if a beach house would be better but we say NO cause it was so nice and quiet here and still on the water but not so sandy :) ok, gotta stop myself! .. It was just plain great and we will be back for sure!! Thank you

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4Sunny-rays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Booked a last minute Gulf Coast trip starting in Apalach. We arrived expecting a room with a king size bed and were quite pleasantly surprised by a suite with a full kitchen, 2 bathrooms, a screened porch, large living area and laundry. It was so quiet and peaceful ... just what we needed to unwind - vacation at its finest. The river view was beautiful and the continental breakfast provided in room was a great start to each day. Spent 2 nights here and wish we had stayed longer. Only a short walk to Up The Creek Raw Bar which had good food and a fun atmosphere. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YouWentWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We just stayed 3 nights in this lovely place situated on the Scipio creek just by the Apalachicola River. We requested a room layout (ours was #109. I believe #209 & #309 have the same layout) that placed the bedroom creekside. The screened porch allows for open french doors and you can listen to fish jump, birds sing and an occasional fishing boat pass by during the night. The room is luxurious, and the hotel is nicely laid out.
The staff is the best we've encountered anywhere: lovely, attentive, giving us an evening call to see if everything is okay and wishing us goodnight. Thank you Nedra! You are a special lady.
The hotel is a little pricey but well worth it. We'll return.
Apalachicola is a quiet town with the friendliest people we've ever met. Make sure to try an Arepa at Cafe con Leche - delicious coffee too! and scrumptious homemade baked goods - all served with love and devotion by its Venezuelan owner - she's wonderful.
Nearby St. Joe Island, St George Island have extremely beautiful beaches - we nearly had them to ourselves - and this on spring break! A sweet little aquarium near St George Island is worth a stop. It's free but will accept donations.
Development has largely bypassed Apalachicola - and despite economic pressures - this is what makes it so very desirable a place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
378 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
587 reviews
8.8 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
273 reviews
19.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Street Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Hotel & Marina

Property: Water Street Hotel & Marina
Address: 329 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1427
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty NEW upscale condominiums with all the services of a hotel! The minute you step onto the grounds, you'll lose track of everything but the beautiful natural wetlands and the lazy Apalachicola River. If you enjoy solitude, you'll enjoy this. One and two bedroom, two bath condos feature a living-dining area with fully equipped kitchen, stainless steel appliances, washer-dryer, flat screen cable TVs, high speed internet, private screened veranda overlooking the river, outdoor pool and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Water Street Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel And Marina
Water Street Hotel Marina
Water Street Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing